top of page

Australian Heavy Metallers Plague 9: Release Debut EP Mr Ass on 5 July

Adelaide's traditional heavy metal newcomers Plague 9 are releasing their debut EP MR ASS on 5 July 2019. The stunning artwork was created by Dusan Markovic who has worked with Dragony, Mystic Prophecy, Dragonheart and many more.

Formed by rhythm guitarist/singer Devon Smith and bassist John Hopf in 2017, Plague 9 recorded their first song Stuck in Hell for the release on the Metal United Down Under Vol 1 compilation. Since then lead guitarist David Hone has jumped on board bringing his very unique playing style and blistering speed taking the songs into a new dimension.

Since their installation, Plague 9 have been busy playing gigs and supporting a number of known Australian bands touring Australia. Another major focus has been in the studio recording the debut EP Mr Ass, with a good mix of thrash and more traditional style heavy metal riffs. Drawing influence from bands such as Metallica, Megadeth, Pantera, Iron Maiden and also Jeff Loomis, Marco Sfogli and Andy James... there is sure to be something for every headbanging metal junkie.  

Plague 9 are: John Hopf - Bass guitar David Hone - Lead guitar Devon Smith - Rhythm guitar/vocals Kon Tsacos - Drums


MR ASS is available on their Bandcamp page for download now and hard copies are available on 5 July 2019.


Plague 9 - MR ASS


  1. Stuck in hell

  2. Criminal justice

  3. Flavour of the weak

  4. Feed it

  5. Mr ass   

58 views0 comments


bottom of page