top of page



"Killers Like Us is dark and intense. Heavy as lead but quick on its feet, plunging your face into a cold world of sin and retribution. All the dark angels crowding around." -

"This is clever, challenging, blunt, artful, complicated, coarse, unpalatable, and delicious music that delivers artful spoonsful of musical ambrosia." -

"Killers Like Us sounds like a fever dream, Robinson a nocturnal entity both whispering and screaming in the sleeper’s ear." -

"...every moment and every spin well worth savoring as a rare event..." -

"As with life, there’s turbulence to be appreciated in Buñuel’s new album Killers Like Us." -

Avant-garde noise rock luminaries BUÑUEL will release their widely praised, 3rd full-length album, Killers Like Us, tomorrow, February 18th with Profound Lore Records. Without further ado, the band has revealed a stream of the record in its entirety a day early at

For those still lingering in the dark, BUÑUEL is a four-piece collaboration consisting of renowned American art terrorist Eugene S. Robinson (OXBOW) on vocals and a trio of revered Italian musicians, guitarist Xabier Iriondo (Afterhours), bassist Andrea Lombardini and drummer Francesco Valente (Il Teatro Degli Orrori, Snare Drum Exorcism, and Lume).

Killers Like Us is the final chapter in a trilogy of albums, including The Easy Way Out (2016) and A Resting Place for Strangers (2018), and by far their heaviest among the orchestrated chaos. Singles like "When God Used A Rope" (Music Video: and "Crack Shot" (Stream: help craft a dark and twisted swan song of death and destruction that lead to an enlightening awakening.

Robinson reflects on the new album:

"The ambiguity implied by the title where it's not entirely clear whether the killers are similar to us or just appreciate us, is nowhere in evidence in the music, which sets out to say in as clear a way as possible: your death is an inevitable consequence of you, very precisely, being YOU.

I'm always understanding recorded music as a soundtrack for a movie you the listener get to visualize. In this case: the visuals as they exist are much more potent reminders that our horrors are as ever present as our loves are endless."

When you mix and match the awesome sonic...MIGHT, really no other word for it...brought to bear by Xabi, Andrea and Franz, and match that with the grand guignol of the lyrics and the lyric delivery, you need to know that nothing else you hear this year will come close. Something I stake my life on."

Killers Like Us Tracklisting:

1. Hornets

2. When God Used A Rope

3. It's All Mine

4. Crack Shot

5. Stocklock

6. Roll Call

7. When We Talk

8. A Prison of Measured Time

9. For the Cops

10. Even The Judge


Named after the Spanish filmmaker Luis Buñuel, the only filmmaker to first make his bones by making good on what happens when straight razors meet eyeballs, BUÑUEL boasts the sound work of the Italian trio of guitarist Xabier Iriondo (Afterhours), the bass of Andrea Lombardini, and the drums of Francesco Valente (Il Teatro Degli Orrori, Snare Drum Exorcism, and Lume ), along with the vocals of Eugene S. Robinson (OXBOW).

Xabier is the deus-ex-machina of some of Italy's most adventurous musical projects as both guitarist and sound manipulator for dozens of bands on more than 50 records with major and independent labels whose work has seen him playing live on three continents. And counting.

Andrea Lombardini, a composer, producer and electric bass beast has been playing in Italian and international jazz, pop, rock and just about everything with everyone including most significantly David Binney, Mark de Clive-Lowe, Jason Lindner, Richard Julian, Michel Godard and many more.

Francesco Valente, composer, percussionist, improviser and sound extremist, is a vital slice of the Italian rock band Il Teatro Degli Orrori.

And Eugene S. Robinson, vocals, lyricist and owner of the .44 magnum revolver on the record cover has spent the last 30 plus years with the critically esteemed experimental rock outfit OXBOW.

With their first two records appearing on Italy's La Tempesta, for this their third, BUÑUEL is branching out to have Profound Lore Records handle the non-Italian speaking portion of the world. A development that will let them play well beyond the previous tours European stomping grounds.

Recorded in the midst of the pandemic by Andrea De Marchi. Vocals by Monte Vallier, KILLERS LIKE US was mixed by Giulio Ragno Favero (Zu) and Mastered by Giovanni Versari (Muse). The album will see release on February 18, 2022, on CD/LP/Digital by Profound Lore Records and La Tempesta International.


5 views0 comments


bottom of page