top of page

Canada’s T-Rex Marathon Get Political With “Faux News” Off Upcoming Album “Days Without Incident”

Canada’s T-Rex Marathon Get Political With “Faux News” Off Upcoming Album “Days Without Incident” “Days Without Incident” Out October 16, 2020

L-R- Alex Hodges (guitar, vocals), Jeremy Toppings (bass, vocals), Darien Swolfs (drums), Adam Sakauye (lead vocals) and Aaron Stafford (guitar, vocals)

Ottawa’s T-Rex Marathon is releasing their first full-length album this year and it is chock full of melodic, energetic, and authentic pop-punk and post-hardcore.

The reception T-Rex Marathon is hoping for is one of mild nostalgia. As much as they are a new band, they aim to send their listeners back in time to the 2010 era when life felt a little simpler and times were a little happier for their fans. 

That is exactly what their new album, “Days Without Incident” does. The nostalgia is the initial hook, however progressing through the album, the listener takes in the sonic variety they’ve provided leaving a complex emotional response. Each of the songs was carefully chosen to reflect the past, present, and future of the band. They tell a story of a fledgling high school band that’s growing up and becoming a serious act with a message to say.

The first single from the album is “Faux News” and T-Rex Marathon shares the motivation behind it: 

“Let’s get political. The title is a pun on “Fox News” and fake news (as if it wasn’t obvious). It’s us holding a mirror to our neighbours to the south and diagnosing some of the more obvious issues with them and by extension, the rest of the western world.”

Making use of a stadium punk style sound (a la Billy Talent), the band explores ideas of consumerism, kabuki theatre democracy, individual responsibility, and what it means to exist in the world we do. The song is catchy, simple, and easy to shout along with and is the kind of song that would galvanize young budding activists to dive deeper into the ideas the band is trying to convey. For fans of Silverstein, Billy Talent, and Alexisonfire; “Faux News” can be heard via its premiere on GhostCultMag HERE.  The full release of “Days Without Incident” is out on October 16, 2020.  Album pre-order at and pre-save on Spotify, Apple Music here.

Track Listing:

1. All For Nothing (2:56)

2. No Words (4:56)

3. Faux News (3:05)

4. A Prison Just For Us (4:08)

5. Turnpike (4:06)

6. Pick Your Poison (4:58)

7. Misfits (4:24)

8. Sheltered (4:01)

9. Futures and Goodbyes (4:32)

10. 5 Centimeters Per Second (5:58)

Album Length: 43:09 Album Credits:

• All songs performed by: T-Rex Marathon

• All songs written by: T-Rex Marathon

• Produced by: T-Rex Marathon and Mike Bond

• Mixed by: Mike Bond

• Mastered by: Mike Bond

• Album Artwork by: Jeremy Toppings

• Member of SOCAN

• Canadian Content (MAPL) Album and Live Band Line Up:

Aaron Stafford – Guitar/Bass/Keys/Vocals

Adam Sakauye – Lead Vocals

Alex Hodges – Guitar/Bass/KeysVocals

Darien Swolfs – Drums/Percussion

Jeremy Toppings – Bass/Vocals For more info:

EPK About:

Starting out on the Ottawa metal/hardcore scene, T-Rex Marathon has adopted a unique sound that comes from a mix of Alternative Rock, Punk, and Post-Hardcore.

Formed by friends in high school, the band began to really take shape almost by accident and through dumb luck. The current lineup consists of Aaron Stafford (guitar/bass/keys/vocals), Adam Sakauye (lead vocals), Alex Hodges (guitar/bass/keys/vocals), Darien Swolfs (drums/percussion), and Jeremy Toppings (bass/vocals).

In a fiercely democratic writing process, every single member has input and a veto, sometimes resulting in a very long but completely organic process resulting in a synthesis of something everyone is happy with. As the band progresses, so does the love and attention that is put into each and everything they produce. The T-Rex Marathon family is and has always been, dedicated to making kick-ass music and leaving a mark in the industry, not only for them, but for their fans.

The boys in T-Rex, as the band is called for short, endlessly value their dedicated fans, affectionately known as Marathoners. After all, it is for them that they continue to write about what they want and play what feels right. T-Rex Marathon’s music is a simple blend of attack and melody that has the main goal of being not only fun to play, but fun to listen and rock out to.

The stage is a performing area, and this band refuses to give anything but their all at every show. They have had the pleasure of sharing the stage with bands such as: Of Burning Empires, Flesh Over Faith, Faithful Unto Death, and Project Mantra. They have also played Wretched Fest 1&3, Unite and Ignite 2012, 2014.

To date, the band has released 2 EPs Aurelia (2017), Eponymous (2016), and are readying to share with fans their first full length ” Days Without Incident ” due out October 16th, 2020.

“Each band member draws in a different musical influence, from Alexisonfire (post-hardcore) to Blink-182 (pop-punk), to even Coheed and Cambria (progressive rock), creating a sound that is impossible to be kept in a box.” – Asha Swann

“For fans of hardcore, punk and just good rock n roll, people from all over the spectrum should get on this!” – Punkanormal Activity

2 views0 comments
bottom of page