top of page

Dödsmetall Horde VANHELGD Return with "Atropos Doctrina"

After six long years, VANHELGD has finally installed a successor to 2018’s monumental Deimos Sanktuarium on the notorious Svensk Dödsmetall throne. But as the saying goes, good things are worth waiting for, and as the Fates would have it, the Swedes’ sixth opus Atropos Doctrina might just be the best of the bunch. 

The band comments on the album:

“Six years of pandemic, crisis, and war have passed since we last announced the impending doom of mankind. Much and nothing has changed. Tragedy, ecstasy, and doom are still our perpetual companions and the age of man is indefatigable crawling towards the end of its path. The moirai spun and measured your thread of life and now it’s in the hand of Atropos the Inflexible One…”

VANHELGD has shared a stream of album track "Kom dödens tysta ängel." Listen now at

Dark Descent Records will release Atropos Doctrina on July 12. Pre-orders available on May 31.

Stream previous VANHELGD releases on Spotify and Apple Music.

Atropos Doctrina Tracklist:

1. Saliga äro de dödfödda

2. Kom dödens tysta ängel

3. Ofredsår

4. I ovigd jord

5. Atropos Hymnarium

6. Galgdanstid

7. Kerernas törst

8. Gravjordsfrid

Atropos Doctrina was recorded under the watchful eye of Marduk’s Magnus “Devo” Andersson at Norrköping’s Endarker Studios, and the odds are you won’t hear a heavier production for a good wee while. Backed by ice-cold performances and precision from the band, Atropos Doctrina might just be the biggest sounding album of 2024 to date!

Despite its Latin title, all lyrics on the record are in the band’s mother tongue, marking an end to their Anglo-Swedish lyrical approach.

An indifference to trends and scene sentiments persists as Vanhelgd’s trump card. And after 17 years the band remains just as uncompromising as ever, honing their unique blend of atmospheric death and black metal to perfection.  

Atropos Doctrina was recorded, mixed, and mastered in Endarker Studios by Magnus "Devo" Andersson. Cover art by Mattias Frisk.


 Jonas Albrektsson - Bass

 Mattias Frisk - Guitar and vocals

 Jimmy Johansson - Guitar and vocals

 Mathias Westman - Drums

5 views0 comments


bottom of page