top of page

DEINE LAKAIEN release 2-LP "Dual" today

New DEINE LAKAIEN double album "Dual" out today

German dark wave icons DEINE LAKAIEN are releasing their already highly acclaimednew double album, tellingly entitled "Dual" today, on April 16, 2021.

"Dual" is currently projected to enter the official German album charts on #1 next week and is now streaming in full at this YouTube link.

DEINE LAKAIEN comment on the release: "We would like to take this opportunity to thank you all again for your patience, your faith, and your loyalty as well as for all of the heartwarming feedback on the six pre-singles", write the Germans.

"Dual" is based on an overarching concept of an inspirational "cause and effect", which is the fundamental idea behind this double album that features stunning and often surprising cover versions chosen by the duo and original DEINE LAKAIEN songs inspired by each one of them. Please find a more in-depth description regarding "Dual" and the artistic aspects behind this masterpiece below.

DEINE LAKAIEN have been confirmed for one of their legendary acoustic sets at Prophecy Fest in the label's 25th anniversary year 2021 taking place at the natural Cave of Balve, Germany from Thursday, September 9 to Saturday, September 11. Tickets are available here:

Shop link:

DEINE LAKAIEN band pictures and graphic materials available at:

(click here for Dropbox)

Tracklist Album I

1. Because of Because

2. Sick Cinema

3. In Your Eyes

4. Snow

5. Happy Man

6. Run

7. Les oiseaux

8. Unknown Friend

9. Qubit Man

10. Someone to Come Home to

Tracklist Album II

1. Because the Night

2. Spoon

3. The Walk

4. Dust in the Wind

5. Suspended in Gaffa

6. La chanson des vieux amants

7. Black Hole Sun

8. Lady D'Arbanville

9. Song of the Flea

10. My December

DEINE LAKAIEN are a German cultural icon. In their home country where the artificial distinction between "serious and popular music" is still maintained, the legendary electronic avantgarde duo has managed the rare feat of being accepted as serious artists as well as proving to be highly popular.

With their 10th studio full-length, "Dual", classically-educated composer and pianist Ernst Horn and vocalist extraordinaire Alexander Veljanov ingeniously contrive to blur the fictional lines drawn by editorial gatekeepers in a conceptual double album, which connects both full-lengths by a double reference.

Half of the double album consists of 10 new songs that DEINE LAKAIEN have crafted with particular artists or songs in mind that have been important for the duo's musical evolution. These sources of inspiration are made clear on the second album of "Dual", which features 10 amazing cover tracks that range from Cat Stevens' classic 'Lady D’Arbanville' via Jacques Brels melancholic 'La chanson des vieux amants' to Kate Bush's 'Suspended in Gaffa' and the surprising choice of the Linkin Park song 'My December'. Each of these renditions has been lovingly translated into the Germans' unmistakable soundscape.

In this artistic juxtaposition of a cover version and related new song, the Patti Smith/Bruce Springsteen collaboration 'Because the Night' corresponds with the Horn/Veljanov composition 'Because of Because'.

In this age of perceived cultural appropriation and inquisitorial demand for some kind of impossible purity, DEINE LAKAIEN make the obvious audible by pointing out that art does not grow out of thin air - as clearly as Beethoven could not have created the same compositions without the works of Bach before him, and in turn influence Wagner to progress in his footsteps.

Although an artistic achievement in itself, "Dual" can also be enjoyed without any theoretical consideration as 20 beautiful songs that each provide excellent entertainment. DEINE LAKAIEN lay bare some of the sources of their inspiration and artists that have touched, inspired, thrilled, and shaped them in a most respectful way.

Once again, DEINE LAKAIEN are breaking new ground, which the duo have achieved multiple times in their now 35-year history. Founded in 1985, they started as a purely electronic avantgarde dark wave project. Taking their name from a reference in the song 'Die genaue Zeit' by German experimentalists Einstürzende Neubauten, the band self-released "Deine Lakaien" in 1986, which spread by word of mouth and created an underground buzz. The debut set the duo clearly apart from electronic contemporaries such as YAZOO, SOFT CELL, EURYTHMICS, and OMD by virtue of their singular dark sound.

With official label backing, the albums "Dark Star" (1991) and "Forest Enter Exit" (1993) considerably widened the Germans' audience and gained the attention of influential critics. Simultaneous with their growing success, DEINE LAKAIEN broadened their musical scope by playing a fully acoustic tour in 1992, an ambitious exercise that would influence later albums such as "Kasmodiah" (1999). Their impressive and highly diverse catalogue has been summarised in the anniversary releases “XXX. The 30 Years Retrospective" (2016) and "The 30 Years Retrospective: Live" (2018).

Although the global pandemic upset the original planning, DEINE LAKAIEN are no longer prepared to accept this disturbance of their musical endeavours. The duo will release the eagerly awaited "Dual" on April 16, 2021, to the delight of a massive following that has been clamouring to finally receive the promised album. It is high time the visionaries bring forth their fascinating voice and unique music to the world once more.


Alexander Veljanov – vocals, lyrics, composition

Ernst Horn – instruments, composition, lyrics


Shop link:

Release date: April 16, 2021

Band pictures and graphic materials: (click here)

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

By Greg Fristick Icarus Witch No Devil Lived On Cleopatra Records October 27, 2023 Pittsburgh NWOTHM legends, Icarus Witch, return with their 7th release on Cleopatra Records, No Devil Lived On. The a

bottom of page