top of page

DYATLOVE Launch EP Pre-Order + New Music Video 'Fragile Fixation'

DYATLOVE Launch Pre-Order For Debut Self-Titled EP Out May 29th New Music Video 'Fragile Fixation'

Vancouver's Dyatlove have launched the pre-order for their self-titled debut EP due out May 29th. Along with the digital release of the EP, the band will be issuing a cassette version from Coup Sur Coup Records that will feature an exclusive bonus track ‘Die! Kill! Pig!’. Recorded at Rain City Recorders with Matt Roach over the course of a few days, Dyatlove's sound is eclectic and diverse, at times morose and at other, heavy sludge. An EP that requires attention to take in, each song takes the listener on a ride with complex lyrical content aiming to grab attention. Guitarist Rikki Jennings-Buford shares his thoughts on the EP:

“I think this EP will be appreciated by more than just fans of heavy music. As musicians, we write the music that we want to hear and we aren’t fans of just metal. There is something for everyone who digs guitar-based music on this EP. We hope these 4 songs give you a good representation of our inspirations and where we could go musically.” In addition to the EP's pre-order, the band has released their music video for the single 'Fragile Fixation'. The single is the result of Sam Caviglia (guitar/vocals) returning from a getaway with the idea for the song. It evolved into a track that is one of their more classically structured songs, but they felt it would be a song that most people would gravitate to right away. Lyrically it is about the pull of depression and not knowing how to get out of it and how it can take over your entire frame of thinking. Understanding you are hurting people but not knowing how to get out of it. Watch 'Fragile Fixation' HERE. Watch 'Fragile Fixation' HERE.

Track Listing:

1. Pass The Heavens (8:14)

2. Empty Lungs (6:53)

3. Fragile Fixation (4:51)

4. Old Haunts (8:11)

5. Die! Kill! Pig! (2:52)*

*(track 5 only on Cassette and Vinyl Version released by Coup Sur Coup Records)

EP Length: 31:03 For more info:

EPK About: Dyatlove is a passionate foray into the realm of morose singer-songwriter overtones set alongside heavy music. Longtime friends Sam Caviglia (guitar/vocals) and Rikki Jennings-Buford (guitar) bonded over bands such as Sonic Youth, PJ Harvey, and Pinback.

This array of influences drives the diversity of Vancouver, Canada’s Dyatlove, who don’t feel the need to pigeon hole into a particular genre. From sad songs to crushing sludge metal to 2-minute hardcore songs, Dyatlove conveys emotion and brings the heavy with drop A tuning.

Starting individually, the band works on riffs and ideas, eventually bringing them together to be fleshed out further. As full believers of limitless creativity, they don’t tie themselves to classic song structures. The lyrics come from many places, some are stories, some are personal experiences. There are songs about love of family, songs about loss, songs about anger and songs about struggles and addictions. Although varied in the subject matter they all have one thing in common, feeling.

Performing with the same intense passion and emotion that they bring to the jam space, Dyatlove intends to really connect to their fans, and show what their songs mean to them. With Rob Sheldrick (drums) and Justin Lacey (bass), the quartet delivers with an infectious openness and energy. Their self-titled, debut EP is being released on May 29, 2020 with the cassette version being released by Coup Sur Coup Records that will feature an exclusive bonus track ‘Die! Kill! Pig!’.

"they’ve got one behemoth set of four savage cuts on this record that warrant a major repeating, and a lineup of tunes that command & demand your full attention.  This whole experience met every hope & expectation I could have had, then smashed & surpassed them all – Dyatlove’s EP didn’t let me down for a solitary second – you need this record on your playlists this year." - Sleeping Bag Studios

5 views0 comments
bottom of page