top of page

EMPYRIUM announce new album and release first single

EMPYRIUM release title track and reveal details of forthcoming new album "Über den Sternen"

EMPYRIUM have released the first single taken from their forthcomingalbum "Über den Sternen", which is slated for release on February 26, 2021. The German dark romantics have also revealed cover art, tracklist, and further details of their first studio full-length since the highly acclaimed "The Turn of the Tides" came out in the year 2014. Please view all information below.

The single 'Über den Sternen' ("Above the Stars") is now available via the following link:

EMPYRIUM band pictures and graphic materials are available here:

EMPYRIUM title track taken from the album ''Über den Sternen"

EMPYRIUM comment: "The title track is also one of the last songs that we wrote for 'Über den Sternen' and its title has been with us for many moons before the music to this song was actually written", reveals mastermind Markus Stock. "Music and lyrics are an ode to the nocturnal sky and the eternal mysteries it unfolds with every nightfall. Based around a quote from German poet Friedrich Schiller, 'Über den Sternen', which translates as 'Above the Stars' surely is a perfect title for an Empyrium album considering that our band name meant the farthest, fiery sphere of heaven in medieval cosmology. Musically it truly is a journey through many sonic landscapes that paint very detailed pictures before your mind’s eye – the awe-inspiring twinkle of the stars we marvel at with childlike amazement, but also the the vast and cold, black nothingness of the universe that makes us crouch in fear of the unknown. With this song, we are indulging in such juxtapositions. 'Über den Sternen' is as Empyrium as it gets to me and it amalgamates elements from every phase of the band with fresh colours and hues to a new epic grandeur. Now delve into the nightly sphere!"


1.The Three Flames Sapphire

2. A Ludid Tower Beckons on the Hills afar

3. The Oaken Throne

4. Moonrise

5. The Archer

6. The Wild Swans

7. In the Morning Mist

8. Über den Sternen

Mountain vistas of sombre forests stretching towards the horizon, majestic ruins of medieval castles still standing proud on ragged cliffs, water spirits lurking in dark moorlands beckoning unwary wanderer to the depths – the very same motifs that inspired the painters and poets of German Romanticism have also given rise to EMPYRIUM in 1994.

With their sixth full-length, "Über den Sternen", a metaphorical German translation of their band name meaning "Above the Stars", EMPYRIUM still draw from the magic and spirits of wild places, nature's beauty, and human relics of ages long past. "Über den Sternen" echoes this reconciliation of the old with the new on a musical level as well. The Franconian duo is putting more emphasis on the electric guitars and harsh vocals again, which marked their first two albums and stood strong upon the band's melodic black metal foundations. Yet EMPYRIUM also revisit the dark folk style, which the Germans had progressively embraced on their third and fourth albums.

What used to appear to be a crossroad in their musical development has now merged into one breath-taking sound. The combined force of mastermind, multi-instrumentalist, clean and extreme vocalist as well as producer Markus "Schwadorf" Stock and classical singer Thomas Helm, who lends his amazing voice also to the Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich, is painting a radiant sonic picture. It comes with the melancholic grounding of the sophomore album "Songs of Moors & Misty Fields” (1997), adds brushstrokes of the fairy-tale tempera colours of "Where at Night the Wood Grouse Plays" (1999), and also makes use of a few hues from the palette that DEAD CAN DANCE have infused with world music, which EMPYRIUM have already employed on "The Turn of the Tides" (2014). The crowning varnish is diligently crafted from rougher elements that reach all the way back to the Germans' legendary debut " A Wintersunset…" (1996). “We have found a new balance", Markus Stock emphasises. "We have finally reconciled our vintage sound from the early days with the acoustic expression of the later EMPYRIUM."

Staying true to the Romantic tradition, EMPYRIUM continue to take inspiration for their lyrical flights of fantasy from the local myths, ancient places, and natural wonders of the Rhön Mountains and their Lower Franconian homeland in the west of Germany. This strong connection to both artists' personal roots is also mirrored in the cinematic expression of their songs that allows a glimpse into the deepest, most heartfelt places of the musicians' souls.

With an eye for detail, the creation of the artwork for "Über den Sternen" was entrusted to long-time member of the live-band and graphic artist Fursy Teyssier. The LES DISCRETS mastermind once again succeeded in capturing the album's quintessence in his cover art.

A circle is closing, and with EMPYRIUM's label Prophecy Productions, which were originally founded with the mission to release the band's debut album, celebrating their 25th anniversary in 2021, it happens in more than one way


Markus "Schwadorf" Stock – acoustic and electric guitars, vocals, screams, drums, bass, keyboard, dulcimer Thomas Helm – vocals, keyboard, acoustic guitars

Guest musicians Nadine Stock – flute Aline Deinert – violin, viola Robina Huy – cello


Release date: February 26, 2021

Pre-sale link

Available formats

"Über den Sternen" is available as a limited collector's box (500 copies) incl. CD hardcover book, gatefold 2LP on exclusive transparent 180g vinyl, bonus 7" single, and a wall flag. As a limited 48-page hardcover CD book incl. bonus-track "The Crimson Heath", liner notes and nature photography by Markus Stock (500 copies), limited gatefold 2LP gold 180g vinyl (200 copies), limited gatefold 2LP dark green 180g vinyl (300 copies), gatefold 2LP black 180g vinyl, and on Digipak CD.

Band pictures and graphic materials

98 views0 comments


bottom of page