top of page




The European progressive hard rock group HEADLESS – composed of members who have performed alongside the likes of Yngwie Malmsteen, Geoff Tate (ex-Queensryche) and Elegy – have unveiled a music video for “Misdirection,” the latest single from their new record (and M-Theory Audio debut) “Square One.” The clip, directed by Marco Di Gennaro, can be viewed at CD and digital versions of the album – which showcases the band's blend of classic rock catchiness with heavier progressive metal influences – will be released this Friday, September 24th, and are available at

“Musically, 'Misdirection' is a classic progressive and up-tempo song with Göran Edman on the helm providing a refined vocal line and choir arrangements reminiscent of his Malmsteen heydays,” explains guitarist Walter Cianciusi. “Göran wrote the lyrics as well, giving an interesting social commentary to the listener. 'Misdirection' in fact is a song about the growing infiltration of the mob and families dedicated to crime in places and cities that until a few years ago were considered 'civil' and safe. The video clip has an old-school vibe to it with the band playing the song in an old, bare and abandoned industrial landscape.”

In addition to its CD and digital releases this week, “Square One” is still scheduled for a limited-edition colored-vinyl release. However, the reality of extended backlogs currently facing pressing plants, vinyl manufacturers, and record labels are also affecting the latest release from HEADLESS. While the band's new music will be available this week in other formats, the vinyl release of “Square One” will now be released in early 2022, and pre-orders for either the standard cloudy blue sky or its limited exclusive Belt of Venus variant (with signed band photo) will remain available in the meantime at the above link.

Earlier this year, HEADLESS released the first sampling of new music from “Square One” with the song “Woman in White,” an energetic rocker with a melodic power metal vibe and lyrics inspired by the works of classic American poet Emily Dickinson. A video, directed by Dimitar Stamenov (Sabaton, Motorhead), in which the ghost of the death-obsessed poetess is projected in a typical video game setting, can be viewed at this location: This was soon followed up by the release of “Streetlight Buzz”, a catchy progressive-rocker with an animated video that can be viewed at this location: The group also released a music video for their cover of AC/DC's “Two's Up,” which can be viewed at:

The upcoming release of “Square One” is the latest chapter in the saga of a band whose members have amassed an impressive array of credits throughout their respective careers. Göran Edman has been the group's lead vocalist since 2011. The two HEADLESS albums to which he has lent his melodic croons so far – 2013's “Growing Apart” and 2016's “Melt The Ice Away” – join a lengthy resume that began in the 1980s as a part of Swedish hard rockers Madison and Swedish Erotica; included stints during the 1990s as a vocalist for Yngwie Malmsteen and John Norum (Europe); and continued with multiple groups into the 21st Century, most notably alongside members of The Flower Kings in the progressive metal band Karmakanic.

HEADLESS was founded in 1996 by cousins Walter (guitars) and Enrico Cianciusi (drums). The original incarnation of the band released the 1996 EP “Future to Past” and the 1998 full-length “Inside You” before disbanding in 2000. Walter and guitarist Dario Parente (who, along with Walter, is part of Geoff Tate’s band, and recently guested on Tate’s Sweet Oblivion project) revived the name in 2011 with an entirely new lineup, centering their new music around catchy rock choruses, progressive metal technicality and Edman's powerful vocals. That formula – aided by drummer Scott Rockenfield (Queensryche) – formed the basis of their 2013 comeback record “Growing Apart.” Enrico rejoined HEADLESS in 2014 and subsequently contributed drumming duties on 2016's “Melt The Ice Away,” which also featured a guest appearance from guitarist Jim Matheos (Fates Warning). The band's mastery of rock-solid AOR anthems is bolstered on “Square One” by new bassist Martin Helmantel, whose playing helped provide the backbone for a decade's worth of stellar progressive metal from Dutch rockers Elegy from 1992 through 2002.

In addition to the three full-length records that HEADLESS has recorded since their 2011 revival, the band has been a consistent live presence on European stages, performing alongside Fates Warning, Queensryche, Tygers of Pan Tang, Angra, Skid Row, Bonfire, D.A.D., Candlemass, The Dead Daisies and more.


Göran Edman – vocals

Walter Cianciusi – guitars

Dario Parente – guitars

Martin Helmantel – bass guitar

Enrico Cianciusi – drums

6 views0 comments


bottom of page