top of page

German Post-Rock Quintet THERE’S A LIGHT Releases Third Single “Be Brave, Fragile Heart”

German Post-Rock Quintet THERE’S A LIGHT Releases Third Single and Official Video “Be Brave, Fragile Heart” | Watch HERE!

New Studio Album, f̶o̶r̶ ̶w̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶m̶a̶y̶ ̶I ̶h̶o̶pe̶? for what must we hope?, out this Friday!

Save Your Copy NOW!

[photo credit: Dimi Conidas]

2021 actually had another fine surprise up its sleeve.” Metal Hammer, GER

There's A Light are the new star in the Post Rock firmament!” Rock It!, GER

"An amazing post rock journey through to discover your soul: just push play and close your eyes." Rock Hard, IT

"..., this is an immersive listening experience that thrills, touches and connects on so many levels." Powerplay, UK

German post-rock/experimental quintet THERE'S A LIGHT will release their second album and label debut, f̶o̶r̶ ̶w̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶m̶a̶y̶ ̶I ̶h̶o̶pe̶? for what must we hope?, this Friday via Napalm Records! Fans of their atmospheric and multilayered post-rock were already able to take a further glimpse into the new full-length’s atmospheric soundscapes with their pre-released singles “Elpis” and “Dark Clouds Behind, Bright Skies Ahead”. Today, THERE'S A LIGHT are paving the final path to the imminent album release with their beautiful third and final single, "Be Brave, Fragile Heart”, alongside a heartfelt music video.

With a soft fade in, a peaceful melody of blended guitar and piano play emerges from thin air. Distant ambient tones follow, resembling light raindrops as they fall on an old, rugged iron roof. This time, the story of "Be Brave, Fragile Heart" is given life by Andreas Richau's gentle, breathy vocals, too. While flying synths and dissolute instrumental parts slowly pull at the listeners’ ears, a quiet, distant-sounding rhythm settles in, alike the gradual ticking of time. The whole piece stretches over seven and a half minutes and yet feels like a beautiful moment that passes far too quickly and that you could hold on to forever.

THERE’S A LIGHT on “Be Brave, Fragile Heart”:

'Be Brave, Fragile Heart' is a song about discovering an unknown fragility within yourself and how to deal with it honestly. What might sound weak for some, we believe is a necessity to get out of the dark times that life brings to all of us sometimes. While destruction happens fast, healing takes its time.”

Watch the new music video for “Be Brave, Fragile HeartHERE:

Thematically, on f̶o̶r̶ ̶w̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶m̶a̶y̶ ̶I ̶h̶o̶pe̶? for what must we hope?, THERE’S A LIGHT take a deeper look at the question of the true meaning of hope as well as at the different facets of it: On the one hand, hope can be something positive - a flourishing force that always gives a new impulse to grow beyond oneself. On the other hand, it can also do harm, for example, if one holds on to something that will never become reality.

Radiant album opener "...The Storm Will Set The Sails" immediately enchants with its shimmering melody and great arrangements, while the following "Within The Tides" presents a more dramatic, progressive touch with impressive technique and rhythm. Driving "Like The Earth Orbits Sun" is one of the tracks that features bassist Andreas Richau's captivating, emotional vocals, along with the multi-faceted exclamation point "Elpis" and spherical "Be Brave, Fragile Heart". "Dark Clouds Behind, Bright Skies Ahead" and "Appearance Of Earth" open up another spectrum of sound and expand the cosmos with the passionate cello playing of guest musician Akito Goto. The grand finale "Even In The Darkest Place..." weaves powerful instrumentation with dreamy moments into a harmonious overall construct, once again underscoring a hypnotic post-rock experience in the style of bands like God Is An Astronaut, Russian Circles and Sigur Ros.

THERE’S A LIGHT on the new album:

"So, we asked ourselves what hope stands for and what it means to us. We had a lot of conversations within the band about the good but also the bad aspects of hope and our experiences with it.

And we got answers and inspiration by history and philosophy. Like Kant who has extremely positive views on this topic - hope is necessity for human existence, it’s not seen by him as a personal but collective thing. This is where the album title came from.

The whole process of creating this album really took us on a journey and we found new ways to express our thoughts and feelings with our music. We took a few trips to France and wrote songs together in a cabin, but we also had to write a lot of parts simultaneously, since we are not living in one city any more. We had the chance to work together with new lovely people but we also reconnected with old partners in crime.

All in all it wasn’t an easy journey, but now we made it and are happy and proud to finally release this album with Napalm Records!"

Get your copy of f̶o̶r̶ ̶w̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶m̶a̶y̶ ̶I ̶h̶o̶pe̶? for what must we hope? NOW!

f̶o̶r̶ ̶w̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶m̶a̶y̶ ̶I ̶h̶o̶pe̶? for what must we hope? tracklist:

1. ...The Storm Will Set the Sails

2. Within the Tides

3. Magnolia

4. Like the Earth Orbits Sun

5. Dark Clouds Behind, Bright Skies Ahead

6. Refugium

7. Elpis

8. Fear Keeps Pace with Hope

9. Be Brave, Fragile Heart

10. Appearance of Earth

11. Even in the Darkest Place...

f̶o̶r̶ ̶w̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶m̶a̶y̶ ̶I ̶h̶o̶pe̶? for what must we hope? will be available in the following formats:

- Digipack

- 2LP Gatefold Black

- 2LP Gatefold in Marbled Curacao/Black (limited to 100 copies worldwide)

- 2LP Gatefold in Ocean Blue (limited to 300 copies worldwide)

- Digital Full Length Album

[2LP Gatefold in Marbled Curacao/Black]

THERE’S A LIGHT are: Jonas Obermüller – piano, synth percussion David Christmann – guitar Markus Dold – guitar Andreas Richau – vocals, bass Jan Lüftner – drums

THERE’S A LIGHT online: Facebook Instagram Napalm Records

8 views0 comments


bottom of page