top of page

Get Whisked Away With “Abductions” From Illuminated Minerva’s “Enigma Adamantine”

Get Whisked Away With “Abductions” From Illuminated Minerva’s “Enigma Adamantine” Premiere Single "Abductions" via TheProgSpace New Album “Enigma Adamantine” Out Sept 25th; Launch Pre-Order

L-R: Pat Lawtey (Guitar) | Matt Petti (Bass) | Nathan Bourgeault (Guitar) | Jordon Bourgeault (Drums)

Photo Credit – Chris Aune Calgary, Canada’s Illuminated Minerva is putting out their emotional, turbulent full-length album “Enigma Adamantine” on September 25, 2020. Ahead of the release, they are thrilled to entice the world with their second single “Abductions”.

The band blends together heavy riffs, groovy bass, and psychedelic melodies, and in lieu of vocals, archived audio clips resulting in oratory artistic storytelling. The concept album is five long songs, each one uniquely contributing to the overall theme of the album. Fans of the first album will notice a divergence from the ambient and electronic focus towards heavier and more technical songwriting.

Always in a state of growth, Illuminated Minerva shares the story behind “Abductions”:

“Two bros, one alien abduction. A musical retelling of Charles Hickson’s account of his abduction on the Pascagoula River. Progressive movements mixed technical riffs recount the mind-blowing tale of these two friends.”

Being instrumental sets the band apart from most other bands as it makes it easier to appeal to a broader spectrum of people and those with an interest in Tool, Mastodon and Sikth will find Illuminated Minerva especially enjoyable.

“Abductions” is available via its premiere on TheProgSpace HERE.

The full album will be released on September 25, 2020. Album pre-order on Bandcamp, Apple Music. Music Video “Sightings” HERE. Spotify

Track Listing:

1. Heart Beat of Creation (9:48)

2. Sightings (5:08)

3. Abductions (7:05)

4. Wilder (Mother Goddess) (8:37)

5. Illuminatus Majoris (13:03)

Album Length: 43:44 For more info:

EPK About: Illuminated Minerva is a technical, progressive metal band, from Calgary, Canada. Brothers Nathan Bourgeault (guitar) and Jordon Bourgeault (drums) were both musicians growing up and eventually started their first project Sequoia, the beginning of their musical collaboration. Eventually, they moved on to form Illuminated Minerva, with a goal to push the musical boundaries further.

Rounding the lineup out is local scene veteran Matt Petti (bass) who played with drummer Jordon Bourgeault in Verbal Deception; and Pat Lawtey (guitar) who played with the international act Kobra and the Lotus.

The bond between brothers and former bandmates results in a very natural writing process for the progressive metal quartet. Knowing what works and what doesn’t comes easily and allows the band to intertwine astral riffs, and technical harmonies highlighted by the absence of vocals. Combined with archived audio clips the result is oratory artistic storytelling taking the listener through space and time, exploring conspiracies and unanswered questions.

With a captivating and visceral live show, the seasoned musicians of Illuminated Minerva have played with a host of bands locally including Tesseract, Intronaut, and Cloudkicker. In 2014, the band released their debut EP “The Immaculate Deception” and are following it up in 2020 with a full length “Enigma Adamantine” due out Sept 25th.

“The drums provide an off-kilter atomic clock, complete with jazzy accents and jackhammer snare, the guitars shred and squeal. It’s thought-provoking, musically captivating, and will inspire the curious among you to do some research.” – Beatroute

“There is an almost feral quality to their work, and when they all hit it hard, it is intense.” - The Western Front

7 views0 comments


bottom of page