top of page

John 5 Drops New Video For "Land Of The Misfit Toys", Taken From Brand New Album 'SINNER' - Out Now

JOHN 5 Drops Brand New Video For "LAND OF THE MISFIT TOYS"

Watch Here | Stream Here

Brand New Album 'SINNER' Out Now Via Big Machine Records | Stream Here

Tuesday, November 2, 2021 - Incendiary guitarist and solo artist, JOHN 5, dropped his brand new, cinematic music video for epic track, "Land of The Misfit Toys". The new music video is set in 1980 and tells the tale of a young John Lowery who stumbles into a haunted house and becomes possessed by an entity. This entity gradually turns him into the guitar shredding, face-painted icon we all now know as JOHN 5. "Land Of The Misfit Toys" is taken from JOHN 5's brand new solo album, SINNER, which was released on Friday via Big Machine Records and is available everywhere now. Stream the album here and watch the new video for "Land of The Misfit Toys" here or by clicking the image below.

Speaking on the new track and accompanying video, JOHN 5 shares:

"Land Of the Misfit Toys" is my favorite track on the record. It's a real epic and the longest track on the new album. I was watching a documentary on David Foster and how he would produce, arrange and build songs which really influenced me on the arrangement and production of this track. The camera that was used to film the video for "Land Of The Misfit Toys" was the same camera that was used to film the new Matrix movie that is coming out in December, which is pretty cool. The video tells the story of the 10 year old John Lowery (played by my producer's son), who stumbles into this haunted house and becomes possessed by an entity that causes him to start playing guitar and wearing the makeup. At the end of the video, he fully becomes John 5. everybody knows that I'm a big fan of horror so this was a really fun video to make alongside director Chantal Savage."

Commenting on his brand new album SINNER and the incredible reaction to it, John 5 continues

"I'm so excited that the record is finally out. We had such a great time making it. I didn't want to punch in with this record so each track is a full-performance. So if I started from the beginning and messed up, I would start again at the beginning until I got a great take all the way through. With a lot of time on my hands due to lockdown, I was able to really practice and focus on making the record the very best it could be. I'm so happy that the fans really love the album, because I do this for the love of the guitar and the love of music and without the fans, it wouldn't be anything. So THANK YOU again to the fans. I will see you all on the road soon."

As evidenced by the latest slab of sinister sounds, JOHN 5, who moved to Hollywood as a teen to pursue his rock n’ roll dreams, follows his artistic muse wherever it leads. SINNER is ten tracks of pure JOHN 5, summoned with the same mix of vibrant energy and passionate emotion beloved by fans of his work as guitarist for Rob Zombie, David Lee Roth and many more. SINNER is ten tracks full of hooks, melody, and thick guitar-driven groove. "Que Pasa" feat. Dave Mustaine was the first taste of what was to come from the legendary guitarist on his latest full-length. Since its release in August, the track has clocked up 230k YouTube views.



01. Welcome To The Island

02. For I Have Sinned

03. Euphoria (feat. Carla Harvey)

04. Que Pasa (feat. Dave Mustaine)

05. How High The Moon

06. Creepshow

07. Land Of The Misfit Toys

08. Crazy Little Thing Called Love

09. This Is How I Do It

10. Georgia On My Mind (feat. Peter Criss)

SINNER was produced and mixed by Barry Pointer at Riott House Studio in North Hollywood. Drums were engineered by ex-Guns N’ Roses guitarist Gilby Clarke at Redrum Recording in Los Angeles.


When Guitar World convened their State of Guitar in 2021 all-star summit, JOHN 5 appeared on the magazine’s cover, right alongside Metallica’s Kirk Hammett and Tool’s Adam Jones. Without a doubt, his reputation as a guitar-slinging troubadour and top-notch shredder is well-earned, recognized by friends, peers, and collaborators like Slash, Paul Gilbert, and Steve Vai over the years.

But the man whose passport reads “John William Lowery” is more than a postmodern guitar hero. An eclectic showman and horror-obsessed pop culture maverick, JOHN 5’s tastes and talent are as vast and diverse as his renowned collection of guitars and as robust as his expansive discography.

While his solo band and work with Zombie generally keep him otherwise engaged in recent years, he’s continuously called upon to cowrite, collaborate, and lay down leads for rock and pop music’s biggest names. It’s a huge list that includes Scorpions, Rod Stewart, Halestorm, and Alice Cooper.

John owes his love of the guitar to the long-running variety TV show Hee Haw, which he’d watch with his father at the young age of seven. KISS and Jimi Hendrix came after. His band Dirty Trixx won a Battle of the Bands in middle school. Vampirella came next, in high school, when he adopted his now-signature theatrical makeup look. At 18, he moved to Los Angeles to become a session player, performing with Lita Ford, Randy Castillo, K.D. Lang, 2wo (Two) with Rob Halford, David Lee Roth and Marilyn Manson, who gave him the “John 5” moniker.

After a chance encounter with the legendary Les Paul, John began work on his first-ever solo album, Vertigo in 2004, laying the groundwork for several records to come.

Rob Zombie recruited John initially to perform as a live guitarist only on the 2006 Ozzfest tour. But the chemistry between them proved so electric that they began work on 2006’s Educated Horses. As guitarist and co-writer, he appeared on all subsequent Rob Zombie albums and scored 2013’s The Lords of Salem. JOHN 5’s fifth record with Rob Zombie, The Lunar Injection Kool Aid Eclipse Conspiracy, became the hard rock icon’s first No. 1 album. The debut single from L.A. RATS, "I've Been Everywhere" saw John and Zombie paired with Nikki Sixx (Mötley Crüe) and Tommy Clueftos (Ozzy Osbourne, Rob Zombie) and cracked Billboard’s Mainstream Rock Top 40.

Now comes SINNER, the sum total of all that’s come before, a perfect snapshot of where JOHN 5 has been and where he’s headed.

Find JOHN 5 Online

3 views0 comments


bottom of page