top of page

Montreal Heavy Rockers PARADISE Share 1st Music Video From Quarantine Series "From The Van"

Montreal Heavy Rockers PARADISE Share 1st Music Video From Quarantine Series "From The Van" Watch "From The Van" Quarantine Video "Away From You" New Self-Titled Album Out Now! via Vega Musique

L-R - Fred Crew Grr (Guitar), Matt Hias (Drums), Fred Kelly (Bass), R.L. Black (Vocals), Frank Kelly ( Lead Guitar)

Photo Credit – R.L.Black Like many musicians and bands around the world, members of Montreal's heavy stoner rockers Paradise have been separated from one another as a precaution to the Covid 19 pandemic. Not able to see each other to have regular jams along with postponements of performances, the band has adapted to the state of the world and continues to promote their heavy and winding arrangements of corrosive rock with the creation of a new quarantine video series entitled "From The Van". For the series, the band has recorded two songs from their latest self-titled album released this past March. Today, the band shares their first video for the track "Away From You". "Funny enough, we all own our own vans, so we decided to each record ourselves performing our tunes with multi-camera angles. This is Covid 19 style! We couldn’t do it on stage, couldn’t do it for our fans, so we did it in our vans!”says vocalist R.L. Black. Watch the quarantine van version of "Away From You" on the following platforms:



IGTV Back in the summer of 2002, co-founders and fellow guitar players, Frank Kelly and Jet Phil recruited good friends Mike Plant (Sword) and drum god Michel “Away” Langevin (Voivod) to release Paradises 1st album “Rock Anthropologists on the Kon Tiki Voyage”. Summer of 2004, the usual suspects were rounded-up including a collaboration of Voivod’s late but great Denis “Piggy” D’Amour to work on Paradise’s follow-up record “Hotel”. Now in 2020, composed of Frank Kelly (guitars), Fred Kelly (bass), RL Black (vocals), Fred Crew Grrr (guitars) and Mat Hias (drums), Paradise, like a phoenix that is reborn from its ashes, have released a new eponymous album that sways on the line between hard stoner rock and pure heavy metal that was mixed and mastered by Kevin Jardine of  Slaves On Dope. From the opening piece and future classic “Straight From Hell” to the album closer “Free in Exile”, Paradise delivers an album where the balance between catchy riffs, attitude, intensity, and melodies is perfect. Paradise's self-titled album is available for stream and download on Spotify, Bandcamp, and Apple Music. Music Video"Straight From Hell" HERE.

Music Video"Hitting On All Sixes" HERE.

Track Listing:

1. Straight From Hell (3:37)

2. Hitting On All Sixes (3:53)

3. Who Do You Wanna Be (3:35)

4. One Of A Kind (4:34)

5. Never Cry Again (3:33)

6. Low Down And Shaking (4:59)

7. Barn Burner (3:37)

8. Long Gone (2:54)

9. Away From You (3:30)

10. Free In Exile (4:03)

Album Length: 38:20 Album and Live Band Line Up:

Fred Crew Grr - Guitar

Fred Kelly - Bass

R.L. Black - Vocals

Matt Hias - Drums

Frank Kelly - Lead Guitar For more info:

EPK “Fans of melodic heavy rock, there’s a new sheriff in town!” – Jano Lapin

“Solid, driving Hard Rock from the quagmires of Quebec!” – Reek Of STOOM

“Brilliant from start to finish !” – Stoner Rock Army

“A record that growls like a hungry beast” – ARP Média   "The synergy of this quintet gives the listener a proper kick in the ass needed to remember why we fell in love with the format. They also lend proof as to why heavy metal is the cornerstone of the myriad of hard rock subgenres. Blistering guitar riffs, thundering drums, and of course ample swipes at stuffy establishment rules." - Boston Rock Radio "The album opens with “Straight From Hell” and it is an adrenaline high. It is an unmistakable straight forward rock construction of verse-bridge-chorus, repeat, repeat, and the dial is set on stadium anthem. RL Black’s vocals are about as rock and roll as you can get – strong clean singing with a gruff edge. The lead breaks are short to fit in with the song structure, and they are pretty metal. I like the brand they have going here. It is great driving music, great drinking music. I would be stoked to see Paradise on the list of bands at a festival because you can just feel from these songs that they are going to put on a good show on stage."  - Flying Fiddlesticks Music Blog

7 views0 comments
bottom of page