top of page

Montreal’s Junkowl Premiere Album Stream "Making Out With My Death" via Bravewords

Montreal’s Junkowl Premiere Album Stream "Making Out With My Death" via Bravewords Debut Album Friday, June 5, 2020

L-R – Dominic Labrie – Drums, Jesse Frechette – Vocals, Marco Larosa – Guitar, Samuel Matte- Bass Photo Credit – Alexandre Guay

Oozing with rock n roll vibes, Junkowl is coming for ya out of Montreal, QC, Canada. A slick combination of stoner riffs, hardcore energy, and groovy bass, the band's debut album “Making Out With My Death” is due out this Friday, June 5th. Today, the 2019 "En Route To Heavy Montreal Champions" have teamed up with Bravewords for the exclusive full stream premiere of the album HERE. The band comments: "We’re really excited for this album to drop and for people to be able to listen to our music in a different way, and of course to have the opportunity to reach out to a larger audience. We just hope people have as much fun listening to this record as they do coming to our shows. That’s the goal anyway."  As a whole, “Making Out With My Death” is a slow dark ride. Heavy riffs; big dirty bass lines, in your face drums and gut-wrenching screams telling tales of self-loathing, confusion, and intoxication. This is a solid album, something to enjoy with a few beers, smoke a joint, and bang your head off for 30 minutes.

For fans of Cancer Bats, Every Time I Die, and Underoath, “Making Out With My Death”is available for album pre-order HERE. Music Video 'Crawling Up My Feet' HERE.

Track Listing:

1. Snakecharmer

2. Quarantine Us All (2:27)

3. Shake Me

4. Dead Hooker (4:40)

5. Little Scum (4:54)

6. Crawling Up My Feet (3:46)

7. Sickness Lives

8. Relapse (3:39

9. Straitjacket

10. 10,000 Vultures

Album Length: 37:28 Junkowl is:

Jesse Frechette – Vocals

Dominic Labrie – Drums

Samuel Matte- Bass

Marco Larosa – Guitar For more info:

EPK About:

Heavy, sexy, and southern. Those are the best words to describe Montreal’s Junkowl.

Formed in 2017, their unique blend of groove metal, stoner, and hardcore is matched with high energy ‘in your face’ performances. A year earlier Jesse Frechette (vocals) met Dom Labrie (drums) and after a few jams they picked up Marco Larosa (guitar) and Samuel Matte (bass) and the rest is history. The writing process is a collaborative one, with melodies and vocals usually forming on the spot.

Moving through the underground music scene, Junkowl quickly made a name for themselves when they won the 2019 ‘En Route Vers Heavy Montreal’; a competition between nearly 200 bands, landing them a spot at that year’s edition of renowned metal festival Heavy Montreal.

On June 5th, 2020, they will release their debut album, “Making Out With My Death”, a 10 track record full of sultry and powerful songs about past regrets and self-destructive behaviour. It includes the band’s favourite “10,000 Vultures”, the first song Junkowl ever wrote, which was completed after the first jam together. Almost all the lyrics were freestyle during that jam.

With no sign of slowing down, Junkowl has more tunes in the works and pouring passion into their live performances and newly recorded tunes. Stay tuned for party animal blues; fat spliffs and heavy riffs.

“2019 Winners of En Route to Heavy Montreal” "The dirty, fat Stoner Sludge Metal riff of “Snakecharmer” is one designed to be accompanied by a beer and the gut-wrenching roar of “blow your brains out, blow my brains out” that brings it to it to its unnatural conclusion will no doubt be chanted by audiences across all lands as the band hit the road." - Metal Noise "Montreal hardcore rock n rollers Junkowl have released their new single ‘Quarantine Us All’, a slick combination of stoner riffs, hardcore energy, and groove metal. It’s ferocious and relentless from the offset, even when it veers out of hardcore territory and into the sludgier moments. It even has some technical moments, although they certainly borrow heavily from their influences (namely Every Time I Die and Cancer Bats) it is a banger in it’s own right, and given some time to breathe and develop I think this band could bring something monumental to the table." - Backseat Mafia "“Quarantine Us All” – Montreal’s southern rock infused metallers JUNKOWL drop new venomous track" - Idioteq "the group combines very heavy stoner riffs with the energy of punk rock and hardcore. A group to discover absolutely." - Mad Breizh "this Montreal band is a whole other thing. Junkowl deals in a slick combination of stoner riffs, hardcore energy, and groovy bass, which has been called ‘party animal blues’. Which makes their debut album “Making Out With My Death” coming June 5, such a curveball." - Cashbox Canada "they’ve made a name for themselves in the ol’ Heavy Metal City™ with their energetic performances. And you know they have what it takes, since they won this year’s En Route Vers Heavy and literally earned their spot to perform. So technically speaking, this is gonna be an award-winning performance!" - Forget The Box (Heavy Montreal 2019 preview) "I had the pleasure of being a judge at En Route Vers Heavy and these guys were my number one choice. I am so happy they won and got to follow their dream. They fucking destroyed." - Bucketlist Music Reviews

4 views0 comments
bottom of page