MOONSPELL to Re-Release Definitive Album, "The Butterfly Effect"

MOONSPELL to Re-Release Definitive AlbumThe Butterfly Effect Out August 7, 2020 via Napalm Records | Pre-Order HERE

Recorded at London's Trident Studios in 1999,MOONSPELL's fourth album, The Butterfly Effect, saw the band follow more experimental paths after their impactful beginnings in gothic metal. Influenced by industrial elements of the nineties, this full-length release from the Portuguese pioneers captivates with down-tuned guitars, an electronic veil of ghostly synths and the concept of the scientific chaos theory, proclaiming that even the smallest events in life can lead to tremendous consequences. While the ominously calm "Can't Bee" hypnotizes with electronic trip hop elements, Fernando Ribeiro's distinctive vocals rise into a storm of aggression in the chorus of dark metal anthems such as "Lustmord" and "Angelizer", and transform this definitive album into a dynamic mix of different genres. With The Butterfly Effect, MOONSPELL delivered some of the most courageous and exploratory songs of their career. Finally available again as LP Gatefold, digipak and even cassette tape formats, The Butterfly Effect will be re-released on August 7, 2020 via Napalm Records! In addition, this reissue will include two new remixes, a completely re-designed cover and layout artwork, as well as an exclusive excerpt from the Butterfly FX chapter of the band's official biography, “Wolves Who Were Men”. Frontman Fernando Ribeiro comments:

“The Butterfly Effect is our most eccentric and outrageous album ever. We never really knew the depth of love and hate towards it back then, as our mind was stretched and open to extensions neither us or our fans would think of. So, re-releasing and re-designing it brings this uncommon collection of songs, inspired by the Beatnik culture, electronics and technological apocalypse, under a different light. With the world gone viral, the notion of a butterfly that beats its tiny wings in the East, causing a violent earthquake in the West, has never been so accurate, which gives our 1999 extravaganza a renewed meaning and reach. Everything is everywhere, the butterfly effect.” Pre-orders for this magnum opus and must-have reissue of the year – one that belongs in every carefully-curated MOONSPELL record collection – have just begun! 

Pre-Order The Butterfly Effect HERE

The Butterfly Effect Tracklisting:

01. Soulsick

02. Butterfly FX

03. Can't Bee

04. Lustmord

05. Selfabuse

06. I Am The Eternal Spectator

07. Solitary Vice

08. Dissapear Here

09. Adaptables

10. Angelizer

11. Tired

12. K + 7" Vinyl Bonus Tracks:

13. Never Stop to Hurt You (Lustmord Remix by Pedro Paixão)

14. Angelized (Angelizer Remix by Pedro Paixão) MOONSPELL online:






© 2023 by Top Talent Booking. Proudly created with

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon