Out Now! Vancouver Heavy Metal SPELL's New Album "Opulent Decay" + New Music Video 'Dawn Wanderer'

Out Now! Vancouver Heavy Metal SPELL's New Album "Opulent Decay" via Bad Omen Records New Music Video 'Dawn Wanderer'

Hailing from Vancouver, British Columbia, SPELL's new LP “Opulent Decay” is now available as of April 10, 2020 via Bad Omen Records. With the full length's release, they are also sharing the new video 'Dawn Wanderer'. Watch HERE. Album Stream Bandcamp and Spotify. Shrouding their listeners in hypnotizing heavy metal, the ten-track album is a menagerie of atmosphere, heaviness and delicately woven melodies. This will be the third album from the group following “Full Moon Sessions” (2014) and “For None And All” (2017). Reflecting on the progression through the albums, bassist/vocalist Cam Mesmer comments:  

“Many bands find their third album the most difficult because they’re trying to recreate what they’ve already done; for us, it gets easier and better every time. As ideas emerged during the writing process, we nurtured them and gave them all the time and care they needed to flourish and bloom.”

As a precursor to the album release, SPELL has already released a video for the first track from “Opulent Decay” entitled 'Psychic Death'. According to Mesmer, all the tracks on the album “deal with the contrast between opulence and austerity, and the decay that results from imbalance. Our drive to avoid suffering is strong, but it can be overcome by the love for another and the desire to put them before yourself. 'Opulent Decay' examines this balance and the dangers that await on either side of the pendulum." 

Once again creating a powerful and enchanting sonic experience, SPELL invites you to intertwine yourself with romanticism and heavy metal with “Opulent Decay” today.

The album is available for stream, download and physical format at the following link HERE. Music Video - Deceiver - here. Music Video - Psychic Death - here.

Track Listing:

1. Psychic Death  

2. Opulent Decay 

3. Sibyl Vane 

4. Primrose Path 

5. The Iron Wind

6. Dawn Wanderer 

7. Deceiver   

8. Ataraxia  

9. Imprisoned By Shadows 

10. Saturn's Riddle For more info:


Instagram.com/spellofficial About:

Spell have already proven themselves mighty chroniclers of the more supernatural quarters of the heavy music sphere. Recorded at Little Red Sounds studio in New Westminster, B.C., 'Opulent Decay' is an emotionally charged psychic travelogue wreathed in mysticism. The album embraces harmonic guitar heraldry while also showcasing a band as adept at essaying a hymnal acapella piece like the beguiling "Ataraxia" as they are the wistful and melancholic "Dawn Wanderer", the pastoral-tinged and progressively slanted "Primrose Path" or the catchy and barnstorming title-track.

Spell's debut, 2014's 'Full Moon Sessions', and 2017’s critically-celebrated LP, 'For None And All', are proof positive of an outfit — completed by drummer and co-vocalist Al Lester and guitarist Graham McVie - whose grasp of diverting dynamics matched their infectious songcraft. However, these were apparently mere preludes to 'Opulent Decay', the band’s third and finest record to date. "If this band was a van, they would be the raddest, most pimped out airbrushed 70’s van with plush interior and a BOOMING system. SPELL is a perfect name for them, because their songs are jamming heavy metal magic." - Cvlt Nation "Vancouver power trio SPELL make what they call "hypnotizing heavy metal," a captivating mix of Rush- and Blue Öyster Cult–hailing classic rock, lyrics inspired by Romantic poets like Keats, Shelley and Coleridge, and more modern elements that evoke everyone from Opeth to Ghost." - Revolver Mag

9 views0 comments