top of page

THE WRING (ft. Marc Bonilla, Bryan Beller, Thomas Lang + more) Band Playthrough “Cipher” + New Album

Canada's THE WRING Band Playthrough “Cipher” Off Upcoming Album “The Wring² Project Cipher”

Album Guests ft. Marc Bonilla (Keith Emerson Band, California Transit Authority, Glenn Hughes), Bryan Beller (Joe Satriani, The Aristocrats, Dethklok, Steve Vai), Thomas Lang (Robert Fripp, Peter Gabriel, Robbie Williams), Jason Henrie, Jason Sadites

Don Dewulf is the creative mind behind The Wring, a musical adventure chock full of proggy riffs, angry lyrics, and a heavy dose of melody. He is releasing a second album this year, “The Wring² Project Cipher” that boasts the work of several seasoned, professional musicians, making this one of the top albums prog fans are going to want this year.

Dewulf is the sole songwriter of the project and he takes up guitar duties, but the album wouldn't have come together without help from drummer Thomas Lang, vocalist Marc Bonilla, bassist Bryan Beller as well as bassist Jason Henrie who also played on The Wring’s first album. Guitarist Jason Sadites rounds out the line-up, playing a killer solo on one track. This incredible depth of players brings to life an album that has enough proggy stuff for the geeks, but still plenty of melodies and rock riffery for the regular heavy music listener.

Today, The Wring shares a playthrough video for the single “Cipher”, which captures the whole band performing the song from their personal home studios. A combination homage to Ruh's “YYZ” and Mastodon's “March of the Fire Ants”, the track is the only instrumental featured on the full length.

Watch and listen to the playthrough for “Cipher” at

“The Wring² Project Cipher” is recommended for those listening to Tool, Opeth, and old Rush.

“The Wring² Project Cipher” will be out on May 28, 2021.

Track Listing:

1. The Light (4:10)

2. Sorceress (4:44)

3. Cipher (4:29)

4. Steelier (4:25)

5. Dissension (4:08)

6. Dose (3:27)

7. Touch (4:29)

Album Length: 29:54

For more info:


The Wring is a progressive rock project created in 2015 by guitarist Don Dewulf who had compiled a large inventory of compositions that he had fully demoed, just needing players to turn the demos into songs. The project started out in a band format with local musicians and they released a debut self-titled album in 2017.

After a series of live dates sharing stages with Anvil, Diamond Head, and Dead Daisies, the band dissolved. A chance conversation with Mikael Akerfeldt inspired Dewulf to forge ahead with new material, re-connecting with bassist Jason Henrie and engaging world-renowned musicians to perform, bringing the new songs to another level.

The result of that was “The Wring 2 – Project Cipher” releasing in 2021, which will feature album guests Bryan Beller (Joe Satriani, The Aristocrats, Dethklok, Steve Vai), Thomas Lang (Robert Fripp, Peter Gabriel, Robbie Williams), Jason Henrie, and Jason Sadites.

Always starting with a riff, Dewulf builds compositions that showcase his signature blend of classic heavy rock meets prog. The lyrics come after the music is done and are usually a targeted response to an interaction that has sparked anger. The translation of emotion into words is subtle, often belying the more aggressive undertones. Expect more from Dewulf with The Wring3 already in the recording stage!

5 views0 comments


bottom of page