top of page

Canada’s T-Rex Marathon Confront Abusive Relationships In “A Prison Just For Us”

Canada’s T-Rex Marathon Confront Abusive Relationships In “A Prison Just For Us” Premiere Single via IdiotEQ “Days Without Incident” Out October 16, 2020

L-R- Alex Hodges (guitar, vocals), Jeremy Toppings (bass, vocals), Darien Swolfs (drums), Adam Sakauye (lead vocals) and Aaron Stafford (guitar, vocals)

Ottawa’s punk/post-hardcore act T-Rex Marathon are releasing their second single “A Prison Just For Us” off their upcoming album “Days Without Incident”. This is the next installment in the band's discography which already boasts a handful of singles and 2 EPs. 

T-Rex Marathon is out to prove they aren’t a one-trick pony with their first full length which serves as a collection of everything they have been, will be, and currently are. The listening experience is a mix of nostalgia, reminiscent of the bands of their youth that they still love, and also intrigue. They have a goal of helping their fans reconcile their love of old bands and a glimpse of several other musical directions to explore, ultimately giving them a safe space to do so.

In this single, the band flaunts their love of Alexisonfire and it shines prominently throughout the song. The band shares their thoughts on the single: 

“The structure and feel pay homage to AoF’s track “Accidents” and if it were to be described in one word, it would be ‘atmosphere’. It’s the kind of song that with each listens, you’ll find something new but it’s still kept catchy with a great chorus that’s easy to sing along to. It’s a song where we make use of interesting production techniques and slightly improvisational guitar parts as well as giving it a lot of breathing room live to stretch out and interact with the crowd.”

The lyrics for the song center around the confining nature of abusive relationships. The speaker laments how their partner has stripped them of their autonomy and turned them into a cartoonish fantasy, instead of a legitimate relationship. It’s a protest song for a failed relationship.

Heavy themes contrasted with light and poppy melodies are the name of the game for T-Rex Marathon and they can be enjoyed via the premiere of “A Prison Just For Us” on IdiotEQ HERE

For fans of Billy Talent, Alexisonfire, and A Day to Remember, the full release of “Days Without Incident” is out on October 16, 2020.  Album pre-order at

Track Listing:

1. All For Nothing (2:56)

2. No Words (4:56)

3. Faux News (3:05)

4. A Prison Just For Us (4:08)

5. Turnpike (4:06)

6. Pick Your Poison (4:58)

7. Misfits (4:24)

8. Sheltered (4:01)

9. Futures and Goodbyes (4:32)

10. 5 Centimeters Per Second (5:58)

Album Length: 43:09 Album Credits:

• All songs performed by: T-Rex Marathon

• All songs written by: T-Rex Marathon

• Produced by: T-Rex Marathon and Mike Bond

• Mixed by: Mike Bond

• Mastered by: Mike Bond

• Album Artwork by: Jeremy Toppings

• Member of SOCAN

• Canadian Content (MAPL) Album and Live Band Line Up:

Aaron Stafford – Guitar/Bass/Keys/Vocals

Adam Sakauye – Lead Vocals

Alex Hodges – Guitar/Bass/KeysVocals

Darien Swolfs – Drums/Percussion

Jeremy Toppings – Bass/Vocals For more info:


Starting out on the Ottawa metal/hardcore scene, T-Rex Marathon has adopted a unique sound that comes from a mix of Alternative Rock, Punk, and Post-Hardcore.

Formed by friends in high school, the band began to really take shape almost by accident and through dumb luck. The current lineup consists of Aaron Stafford (guitar/bass/keys/vocals), Adam Sakauye (lead vocals), Alex Hodges (guitar/bass/keys/vocals), Darien Swolfs (drums/percussion), and Jeremy Toppings (bass/vocals).

In a fiercely democratic writing process, every single member has input and a veto, sometimes resulting in a very long but completely organic process resulting in a synthesis of something everyone is happy with. As the band progresses, so does the love and attention that is put into each and everything they produce. The T-Rex Marathon family is and has always been, dedicated to making kick-ass music and leaving a mark in the industry, not only for them, but for their fans.

The boys in T-Rex, as the band is called for short, endlessly value their dedicated fans, affectionately known as Marathoners. After all, it is for them that they continue to write about what they want and play what feels right. T-Rex Marathon’s music is a simple blend of attack and melody that has the main goal of being not only fun to play, but fun to listen and rock out to.

The stage is a performing area, and this band refuses to give anything but their all at every show. They have had the pleasure of sharing the stage with bands such as: Of Burning Empires, Flesh Over Faith, Faithful Unto Death, and Project Mantra. They have also played Wretched Fest 1&3, Unite and Ignite 2012, 2014.

To date, the band has released 2 EPs Aurelia (2017), Eponymous (2016), and are readying to share with fans their first full length ” Days Without Incident ” due out October 16th, 2020.

“Each band member draws in a different musical influence, from Alexisonfire (post-hardcore) to Blink-182 (pop-punk), to even Coheed and Cambria (progressive rock), creating a sound that is impossible to be kept in a box.” – Asha Swann

“For fans of hardcore, punk and just good rock n roll, people from all over the spectrum should get on this!” – Punkanormal Activity

6 views0 comments


bottom of page