top of page

DARKTHRONE's "Goatlord: Original" To Be Released On February 10th

The Intended Second Album Of Technical Death/Doom Metal

From The Norwegian Legends In Its Original Form On CD & LP

Pre-orders available now

Darkthrone began life in the late 80s, experimenting with thrash, death & doom metal before eventually delving into the black metal genre & becoming synonymous with the style as one of the most highly regarded acts. ‘Goatlord’ was the title of what was to originally be Darkthrone’s second album. The style followed very much in the vein of debut, ‘Soulside Journey’, with a mid-paced melodic, yet technical, death metal style. After the full completion of the tracks, however, Darkthrone’s focus shifted towards black metal and a more primitive style of composition & so the album was shelved, while work commenced on what was to be the Norwegian black metal milestone, ‘A Blaze in the Northern Sky’, which incorporated some parts from the ‘Goatlord’ tracks. ‘Goatlord: Original’ contains these cult tracks in their original instrumental form, recorded in the band’s rehearsal space (vocals were added in the mid-90’s before an official release came through Moonfog Productions in 1996), with the classic line-up of Gylve ‘Fenris’ Nagell on drums, Nocturno Culto on lead guitar, Ivar Enger on Rhythm guitar, and Dag Nilsen on bass. Taken from Fenriz’s original tape source and transferred/mastered by Patrick Engel at Temple of Disharmony, this is the pinnacle of Darkthrone’s more death/doom metal oriented direction before the transition towards black metal infamy. Featuring intricate arrangements, sombre melodies and a truly distinguishable style overall, ‘Goatlord: Original’ represents a band performing well in advance of its young age. Artwork for this release appears courtesy of renowned artist, Zbigniew Bielak - / @zbigniewmbielak

‘Goatlord: Original’ tracklisting

1. Phantasm [04:09]

2. Hearses [02:46]

3. Possessed [04:37]

4. Below [04:03]

5. Blasphemer [04:56]

6. Rise [03:55]

7. Eclipse [03:51]

8. Wings [03:50]

9. Wolf [03:47]

10. A Blaze In The Northern Sky [04:48]

11. Trident [04:06]

‘Goatlord: Original’ is due to be released on CD & LP on 10th February through Peaceville – pre-orders are available now

The album will be available on digital services from 24th February.

Darkthrone’s new studio album ‘Astral Fortress’ is out now – for more information see

Follow Darkthrone: Facebook / Instagram

For more images –

1 view0 comments
bottom of page