top of page

Jonah Kagen Shares Debut EP 'georgia got colder'

Today, Jonah Kagen releases his much-anticipated debut EP, ‘georgia got colder,’ out on Arista Records. In conjunction with the EP release, Jonah is also sharing the official music video for "georgia," one of the project's new singles.

‘georgia got colder’ includes past releases like “barcelona,” “hill that I’ll die on” and “graveyard shift,” as well as his hit debut single, “broken,” which has amassed over 42 million streams to date. The EP also introduces 3 brand new tracks, “georgia,” “colorado” and “chemicals.” Pairing his signature acoustic-driven sound with lyrics that tug at the heartstrings, Jonah’s delivers undeniable energy and sincerity throughout the EP’s 7 tracks.

“Each song on this EP has a unique story from a different period of my life,” says Jonah. “I’ve experienced so many distinct emotions over the last couple years—missing someone, being missed, being there for someone, needing someone to be there for me. I think they’re all equally valuable, and I wanted them to live together in a space that can hopefully bring some sort of comfort to anyone listening that might hear even just one line that resonates.”

22-year-old Jonah Kagen grew up in Savannah, Georgia and took up guitar at the age of six, diving deep into the instrument’s technical aspects after his jazz musician grandfather showed him performance videos. He further found inspiration in the music of guitarist Andy McKee, whose finger-style technique lit a creative fire within. “He opened my eyes to what an acoustic guitar could be,” he recalls, as he dove deeper into creating music on his own. “If you can bring somebody something with your music that they can’t get anywhere else, there’s nothing better than that.”

While attending college, his sister encouraged him to post his music on social media and he garnered early success as a TikTok sensation with the release of his debut single “Broken.” Already cutting impressive figures with over 100 million global streams, a tour supporting Maisie Peters, and now the release of his debut record on Arista Records, Jonah Kagen is undoubtedly an artist to watch.

‘georgia got colder’ Track List:

1. hill that i’ll die on

2. graveyard shift

3. georgia

4. barcelona

5. broken

6. colorado


Listen to ‘georgia got colder’ on all streaming platforms:

Watch the music video for "georgia":

3 views0 comments


bottom of page