top of page

Rockshots Records: Album Out Now! + New Music Video - Tolkien Inspired AINUR

Rockshots Records: Tolkien Inspired Progressive Rock Orchestra AINUR New Music Video “Apocalypse”

New Album “War of The Jewels” Out Now!

Inspired by Tolkienian mythology, prog-rock orchestra Ainur has been composing J.R.R. Tolkien masterpieces into galloping escapades across the audio landscape for nearly two decades.

Their next anticipated record “War of The Jewels” is now out via Rockshots Records as of Friday, March 19th, 2021 (CD+Digital) with the vinyl release on June 12th. For its release day, the band is sharing their new music video for the full-length's closing track “Apocalypse”. "This song concludes the album and we wanted to end an epic album like this with an epic song. Apocalypse is the musical representation of the sinking of Beleriand when 'the valleys were upheaved and the hills trod down, and Sirion was no more'. The rhythm of the beginning of the song leaves space to a moment of darkness and immobility broken by the string section movement and it grows up until the ending explosion. It is also a song of hope: the war against the Dark Lord has finally ended and the Middle-Earth can now focus on a new beginning 'hoping from now on the sun will shine'."

The music video for “Apocalypse”can be viewed via Rockshots Records YouTube channel -

For “War of The Jewels”, Ainur take an interesting evolution in sound from previous releases, completely immersing fans in J.R.R.Tolkien’s war atmospheres. They have imagined every story and every battle and recreate them through unique and deep music. The compositional process of “War of The Jewels” was very long. It started in 2009 (or maybe before) and it ended more or less last year. Ainur sees it as their “rebirth” album. They have been working hard composing and arranging their music to create the best tribute to Tolkien’s histories that they can.

The band comments:

"'War of the Jewels' is the eleventh volume of “The History of Middle-Earth”. In Tolkien’s mythology is the tale of the big wars that came out after the creation of the Silmarils by Fëanor. The main theme is the big battles of Beleriand, except for Nirnaeth Arnoediad that will have big space in our next album. The main implied character is Fëanor, the mightiest of the Elves. Musically, it’s a thematic album as all our previous and future ones and you will recognize musical themes that we already used in “From Ancient Times”, “Children of Hùrin” and “Lay of Leithian”; however, the atmospheres are more aggressive and mighty than in the past because the topics we have put in Music this time needed a more powerful musical support." Fans of Tolkien’s work along with fans of Ayreon, Queen, and John Williams will be surprised by the majesty and the energy of this work.

“War of The Jewels” album order: Digital CD Digipak - Vinyl - (available on June 12, 2021 - Record Store Day)

Videos: "Spirit Of Fire" ft. Roberto Tiranti (Labyrinth) & Ted Nasmith - Kinslaying (The First)" ft. Ted Nasmith -

Track Listing:

1. Fate Disclosed ft. Ted Nasmith (2:08)

2. Wars Of Beleriand (6:58)

3. Hell of Iron (5:46)

4. Wars Begin (7:01)

5. Kinslaying (The First) ft. Ted Nasmith (7:43)

6. Grinding Ice (8:27)

7. Battle Under The Stars ft. Derek Sherinian (4:39)

8. Spirit Of Fire ft. Roberto Tiranti (Labyrinth) & Ted Nasmith (7:17)

9. The Broidress (3:43)

10. The Great Battle (Or The War Of Wrath) ft. Ted Nasmith (11:58)

11. Apocalypse (4:24)

12. Apocalypse (Acoustic Bonus Track-digital only) (3:46)

Album Length: 1:13:55

Artwork by Felipe Machado (Blind Guardian, Axel Rudi Pell, etc)

Ainur is:

Luca Catalano - Composer, Guitars, Vocals

Marco Catalano - Composer, Drums, Vocals

Alex Armuschio - Composer, Keys, Lead Vocals

Max Clara - Lead Vocals

Roberta Malerba - Lead Vocals

Elena Richetta - Lead Vocals

Giuseppe Ferrante - Bass, Contrabass

Luca Marangoni - Violin

Carlo Perillo - Viola

Daniela Lorusso - Cello

Cristiano Blasi - Flutes

Chiara Marangoni - Horns

Wilma Collo - Lyrics


2006 - From Ancient Times

2007 - Children of Hurin

2009 - Lay of Leithian

2012 - Progressive Rock Night (DVD)

2013 - The Lost Tales

2014 - There and Back Again (single)

2019 - Fall of Gondolin (single)

2020 - Shadow from the East (single)

2021 - War of The Jewels

For more info:

3 views0 comments


bottom of page