top of page



Pittsburgh hardcore/metal juggernauts 156/SILENCE have released their ferocious new EP, "Don't Hold Your Breath," today with SharpTone Records. Produced by Andy Nelson (Weekend Nachos), mastered by Will Putney (Every Time I Die, The Ghost Inside, Knocked Loose), the new record features four powerful tracks with a thematic ode to inescapable chaos and a prime study in calculated foresight.

Commenting on the release the band states:

"In 2020 the world went into lockdown, and widespread panic ensued. Many of us were isolated from our family, friends, and the lives we knew as we watched it all unfold. A lot of us experienced overwhelming feelings of fear, anxiety, helplessness, and uncertainty as we retreated further into ourselves. We as a band found something in that isolation, in the darkness of our thoughts. These are songs of reflection, loss, regret, and loneliness. At the end you might ask yourself if it was all just a dream? To that we say, Don’t Hold Your Breath."

Watch the video for "The Wrong Sense":

Stream/Purchase "Don't Hold Your Breath":

156/SILENCE will return to the stage for the first time in nearly 2 years for a free hometown show in Pittsburgh tomorrow night at The Mr. Roboto Project. The band has also announced tour dates with THE ACACIA STRAIN. 156/SILENCE TOUR DATES (w/THE ACACIA STRAIN): 11/7 Hartford CT A@ The Webster 11/8 Brooklyn, NY @ St Vitus 11/9 Brooklyn, NY @ St Vitus 11/10 Richmond, VA @ The Canal Club 11/11 Richmond, VA @ The Canal Club 11/13 Nashville, TN @ The End 11/14 Nashville, TN @ The End

"Don't Hold Your Breath" Tracklisting:

1. Beginning’s End (Nobody’s Home)

2. A Violent Delight

3. The Wrong Sense

4. Coup De Grâce (The Final Blow)

Established in 2015, 156/SILENCE represents the duality of light and dark. Combining vicious breakdowns and soaring melodies in the vein of genre pioneers like Poison The Well, Norma Jean and Daughters, 156 crafts songs that scream at the darkness but also whisper to the light.

The band came out of the gate swinging with their debut full length, “Undercover Scumbag,” in 2018. That offering introduced the world to a new lineup and a new, more focused and ferocious musical direction. After touring relentlessly and sharing the stage with bands like Varials, Black Tongue, The Acacia Strain and I Am, followed it up with their 2020 sophomore outing "Irrational Pull."

156/SILENCE Line-up:

Jack Murray: Vocals

Jimmy Howell: Guitar

Ryan Wilkinson: Guitar / Vocals

Kyle O’Connell: Drums

Lukas Booker: Bass

For More Information:

5 views0 comments


bottom of page