top of page

Be Captivated With SPECIAL OPS’ Music Video Cover ‘I Put A Spell On You’ (Screamin' Jay Hawkins)

Montreal, Canada’s SPECIAL OPS have just released their latest music video for the cover of the classic 'I Put A Spell On You' produced with Grammy award-winning producer Steve Pageot. The original song was written by Screamin' Jay Hawkins in 1956 and since then has been covered by hundreds of artists in many styles. 

"We originally sent it to him for an opinion since it's a little different than our usual stuff. You know just to be sure. Turned out it was one of his favourite songs too and he offered to produce it! Now who would say no to that? Really cool cat." says vocalist / guitarist AK Johnson.

SPECIAL OPS does this classic justice with their full frontal loud attitude that demands your attention with a madman at the front of the stage backed up by a powerhouse wall of sound. AK Johnson explains why the band chose the song:

“To me, this song is about my relationship with the music industry; how it just keeps messing with you, keeps hurting you, but you just keep going back for more. We wanted to pay tribute to Screamin' Jay Hawkins, one of the founders of Rock N Roll as we know it today with his outfits and insane stage performances.”

The cover comes from the band’s album "Blood And Tears", which was released in November 2019 and mixed by Darius Szezepaniak plus mastered by Kevin Jardine. The album is the band’s fourth studio album, which was received very well by fans. SPECIAL OPS divulges the premise behind the album.

“The album is a reflection of the band's trials and tribulations through the years that have gotten us to this place. The 2 battles with cancer, the shitty record deals, those who lied cheated and stole from us, I can go on and on but it's best that you just listen to it.”

Influenced by Therapy?, Faith No More, and Metallica, SPECIAL OPS is a must-listen for all hard rock fans.

Check out the music video on YouTube:

Digital stream download and CD of "Blood And Tears" available on BandcampSpotifyApple Music.

Track Listing: 1. Blood And Tears (4:07) 2. Mr. Big Shot (2:47) 3. I Put A Spell On You (2:35) 4. Dead Are Calling (3:38) 5. Ship Has Sunken (3:02) 6. Baby Take It All (3:10) 7. Lie To Me (3:10) 8. Bloody Mary (2:55) 9. Salt (2:53) 10. Standing Hollow (3:03) 11. What You Call Man (4:32) Album Length: 35:53

78 views0 comments
bottom of page