top of page

Cinematic Prog Alizarin Streaming New Album "The Last Semblance"

Cinematic Prog Alizarin Streaming New Album "The Last Semblance" Album Stream Premiere via SonicPerspectives New Album "The Last Semblance" Out July 10, 2020

L-R: Jon Damon (Drums) | Josh Kay (Guitars & Vocals) | Avelino Ramirez (Keyboards) | Terran Fernandez (Bass & Backing Vocals) 

Photographer credits: Rob Aft & Christian Robles On Friday, July 10th, cinematic rock metallers Alizarin will be releasing their sophomore album "The Last Semblance". Unlike their strictly instrumental debut record "Cast Zenith" (2018), this next release features prominent vocals throughout fromguitarist Josh Kay. Rich harmonies and baritone resonance from Kay’s voice add a new dimension to the music, allowing the band’s sound to expand to truly uncharted territory.  The album covers a wide spectrum of sonic landscapes and emphasizes the melodic journey over deliberate technique. Although vocalist and guitarist Joshua Kay is the chief songwriter of Alizarin, the compositions on the new record focus on a balance from each instrument, with less of an emphasis on the domination of guitar solos and a greater exploration of what each musician is capable of. Drawing influence from such groups as Porcupine Tree, Haken, Alice in Chains, Opeth, Portishead, and many more, the result of Alizarin's sound is one that is challenging to define, pensive, and often at the crossroads of melody and dissonance.   Today, before the album's official release, the band has teamed up with SonicPerspectives for the full stream premiere of "The Last Semblance" HERE. Kay adds:

"We are extremely excited and proud to present our new album ‘The Last Semblance’, a record that defies the expectations of modern progressive music and offers something for every listener. This music takes our brand of cinematic metal we began on our debut record and expands upon it in every single way. Rich and dramatic compositions, unorthodox chord progressions, lush vocals and harmonies, and compelling melodies abound on our new album. We wanted to stand out from our peers and offer something that will be immediately memorable and captivating, yet will continue to reveal new layers of depth upon every listen." "The Last Semblance" will be available on Bandcamp (CD and Digital), Spotify, and Apple Music. Born out of the forward-thinking inclinations of guitarist/vocalist Josh Kay in late 2017, Alizarin is on a mission to explore unconventional rock music. In addition to Kay, the Los Angeles based group consists of Jon Damon on drums, Terran Fernandez on bass guitar and Avelino Ramirez on keyboard. 

Track Listing: 1. Elegy Simulacra (7:55) 2. Fathom (6:53) 3. A Wreath of Temperance (6:40) 4. Velvet Margin (5:12) 5. Heirloom (5:35) 6. Zero Sum (7:03) 7. Attenuation (10:36) 8. The Ivory Silo (8:48) Album Length: 58:46

Album Credits: • All songs performed by: Alizarin   • All songs written by: Josh Kay • Produced by: Josh Kay and Alizarin • Mixed by: Josh Kay • Mastered by: Jamie King • Album Artwork by: Josh Kay

Album and Live Band Line Up: Josh Kay – Guitars and vocals Jon Damon – Drums   Terran Fernandez – Bass and backing vocals Avelino Ramirez – Keyboards For more info:

EPK "in a musical world swollen with progressive bands, Alizarin is a welcome and refreshing alternative, and and The Last Semblance an entertaining listen. Recommended. 4/5" - Dangerdog Music Reviews "ALIZARIN play scintillating prog-metal and create a sonic soundscape." - RAMzine “While some of the material is more fitting to be described as “cinematic rock” due to the instrumental muzak feel of the songs’ structure, this album possesses the punch of a Dream Theater release and the momentum of a King Crimson record.” – Metal Injection (Album Review - Cast Zenith)

3 views0 comments


bottom of page