top of page

Claustrofobia Releases New Album "Unleeched"

The band Claustrofobia releases the seventh studio album: "Unleeched". In this project, the Brazilian heavy metal group brings back their classic aggressive sound, and also expands their sound throughout the 9 unreleased tracks. "Unleeched is brutal and was made to be enjoyed from beginning to end, just like the old days - and it gives us that first record feeling, in a climate of healing, progress and liberation", comments Marcus D'angelo, vocalist and guitarist of band. In anticipation of the release of this project, the band had already shared two singles: "Neuro Massacre", which is one of the band's most intense tracks to date, and "Corrupted Self", which featured Marc Rizzo (ex-Soulfly ) on the ground. Among the remaining tracks on the album, fans can expect a few surprises. The song "2020 (March to Glory)", for example, explores a side of heavy metal that is new to the band: "Without a doubt it was the most different song we've ever written. I have a lot of different riffs and melodies that I play randomly on the guitar and that we never thought would fit in the Cloister", says Marcus. But his brother and the band's drummer, Caio D'angelo saw potential in one of these riffs: "I had the inspiration and the certainty that we would have to do something with that. I spent a few days creating beats and putting together a sequence so that the music found its way right". This intuition brought results, and the initial idea became the track that closes the album. The album was produced by Adair Daufembach in conjunction with the band, and recorded at Northwood Sound Studio in Los Angeles, at the height of the pandemic in August 2020: "This record comes with an energy of many feelings and sensations from all over the planet. was going through at that moment, mixed with 28 years of history and heavy baggage that the band carries", says Caio. Marcus adds: "And Adair Daufembach's production was essential in the characterization and grandeur of the album's sound. A master." This is also the band's first album with the participation of bassist Rafael Yamada: "I was very happy with the invitation to be part of Claustrofobia. It was also the first time I had the opportunity to compose with the guys, and the experience greatly enhanced my musical baggage", Rafael comments. "I could see the connection between bass and drums better, and that resulted in lines that were much more connected with the groove of the song. I can say that this record opened my mind to a more solid and consistent type of composition." "Unleeched" is a release from the American label Metal Assault Records. The album is now available on all digital platforms and in physical format through the website:

CLAUSTROFOBIA - Corrupted Self - feat. Marc Rizzo (Lyric Video)

More about Claustrofobia: Founded and led by the D’Angelo brothers, fiercely independent since 1994, CLAUSTROFOBIA acts with the same respect and attitude in the dirtiest underground clubs or on today’s biggest stages. Their unmistakable energy and authenticity has won them countless fans throughout Brazil, South America, Europe and the United States. It is no surprise that they shared the stage with Metal royalty Iron Maiden, Slayer, Anthrax, among others. In 2019, they returned to Brazil for a historic show at Rock in Rio, at the request of Brazilian fans, through a nationwide petition. The band was also invited by Slayer to open for their final show in São Paulo.

"Building a cult is one of those things that’s easy in theory but tough in practice. Or it is, anyway, if you’re not Claustrofobia — a Brazilian death metal-tinged trad-thrash ultra-power trio that will have you head banging your way into the fold via the new Caio D`Angelo-helmed video for the soul-stirring, killer anthem 'Riff Cult'" - Shawn Macomber, Decibel Magazine, December 2020

'Unleeched' track listing: 1. Stronger than Faith (4:10) 2. The Encrypted (3:56) 3. Neuro Massacre (2:56) 4. Psychosapiens (3:12) 5. Corrupted Self - feat. Marc Rizzo (ex-Soulfly / Cavalera Conspiracy) (3:36) 6. Unleeched (3:36) 7. Snake Head (4:20) 8. Crawling back to yourself (3:30) 9. 2020 (March to Glory) (4:20)

Claustrofobia is: Marcus D’Angelo – Vocalist and Guitarist Caio D’Angelo – Drums and Effects Rafael Yamada – Bass and backing vocals

Photo: Courtney Ware

Artwork: Alcides Burn

Produced by Adair Daufembach and Claustrofobia

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Adair Daufembach in August 2020 at Northwood Sound Studio in Los Angeles / CA.

Lyric Video: Alcides Burn

For more on CLAUSTROFOBIA visit the band's oficial SITE, INSTAGRAM, FACEBOOK and YOUTUBE

52 views0 comments
bottom of page