top of page




The European progressive hard rock group HEADLESS – composed of members who have performed alongside the likes of Yngwie Malmsteen, Geoff Tate (ex-Queensryche) and Elegy – have unveiled a music video for their newest single, a cover of AC/DC's “Two's Up.” The clip can be viewed at The song – which is now available for streaming and download on all digital platforms – is the latest preview of the band's new record (and M-Theory Audio debut) “Square One,” which will be released on September 24. The album – which showcases the band's blend of classic rock catchiness with heavier progressive metal influences – is now available for pre-order on CD, digital and limited-edition colored vinyl at

Says the band, “(Guitarist) Walter Cianciusi came up with the idea of recording an AC/DC cover. He is a huge fan of Angus & Mal's band. Walter particularly loves the AC/DC albums of the ‘80s, which also contain lesser-known songs and real hidden gems. Once, while listening to the song 'Two's Up,' he realized that Göran Edman could sing it too, making a HEADLESS song out of it. At first, the other members of the band were skeptical, but after hearing the final result, everyone exclaimed, ‘Wow, Göran really made the song his own.’”

Earlier this year, the group released the first sampling of new music from “Square One” via “Woman in White,” an energetic rocker with a melodic power metal vibe and lyrics inspired by the works of classic American poet Emily Dickinson. A video, directed by Dimitar Stamenov (Sabaton, Motorhead), in which the ghost of the death-obsessed poetess is projected in a typical video game setting, can be viewed at this location: This was soon followed up by the release of “Streetlight Buzz”, a catchy progressive rocker with an animated video that can be viewed at this location:

The upcoming release of “Square One” is the latest chapter in the saga of a band whose members have amassed an impressive array of credits throughout their respective careers. Göran Edman has been the group's lead vocalist since 2011. The two HEADLESS albums to which he has lent his melodic croons so far – 2013's “Growing Apart” and 2016's “Melt The Ice Away” – join a lengthy resume that began in the 1980s as a part of Swedish hard rockers Madison and Swedish Erotica; included stints during the 1990s as a vocalist for Yngwie Malmsteen and John Norum (Europe); and continued with multiple groups into the 21st Century, most notably alongside members of The Flower Kings in the progressive metal band Karmakanic.

HEADLESS was founded in 1996 by cousins Walter (guitars) and Enrico Cianciusi (drums). The original incarnation of the band released the 1996 EP “Future to Past” and the 1998 full-length “Inside You” before disbanding in 2000. Walter and guitarist Dario Parente (who, along with Walter, is part of Geoff Tate’s band, and recently guested on Tate’s Sweet Oblivion project) revived the name in 2011 with an entirely new lineup, centering their new music around catchy rock choruses, progressive metal technicality and Edman's powerful vocals. That formula – aided by drummer Scott Rockenfield (Queensryche) – formed the basis of their 2013 comeback record “Growing Apart.” Enrico rejoined HEADLESS in 2014 and subsequently contributed drumming duties on 2016's “Melt The Ice Away,” which also featured a guest appearance from guitarist Jim Matheos (Fates Warning). The band's mastery of rock-solid AOR anthems is bolstered on “Square One” by new bassist Martin Helmantel, whose playing helped provide the backbone for a decade's worth of stellar progressive metal from Dutch rockers Elegy from 1992 through 2002.

In addition to the two full-length records that HEADLESS has recorded since their 2011 revival, the band has been a consistent live presence on European stages, performing alongside Fates Warning, Queensryche, Tygers of Pan Tang, Angra, Skid Row, Bonfire, D.A.D., Candlemass, The Dead Daisies and more.

More information on HEADLESS and “Square One” will be released in the weeks to come by M-Theory Audio and


Göran Edman – vocals

Walter Cianciusi – guitars

Dario Parente – guitars

Martin Helmantel – bass guitar

Enrico Cianciusi – drums

3 views0 comments
bottom of page