top of page

Finnish progressive rock band Varjo-Orkesteri released a second single

Finnish progressive rock band Varjo-Orkesteri released a second single from their upcoming debut album Prima Volta!

Finnish progressive rock/metal band Varjo-Orkesteri released a second single and music video Luoto. The track is taken from their upcoming debut album Prima Volta which is released on April 1st 2022 by Inverse Records.

Watch Luoto video:

The Band comments:

"Where to find a better place to wrestle with dark thoughts and mistakes of the past than rocky shores in the face of stormy waves? Luoto, second single from upcoming Prima vista debut album, Varjo-Orkesteri takes the listener in front of a stormy sea to measure who falls: Man or past?"

Listen to the single:





Apple Music:


Pre-save Prima Volta -album to your playlist from here

Watch video of first single Vihtahousun illallinen:


he Varjo-orkesteri is a Finnish-language group flavoured by rock, metal and proge. The band is the "ready-to-go" missile of the hot Karhula scene, which is always ready to kick the nation with freshest and thickest beats. The band sort of formed by accident when the Fog Light boys (Jarmo Pikka, Pasi Hakuli, Saku Hakuli) were planning to put together a new album based on almost complete instrumental demos. Coincidentally, possible vocal contributions (Markku Pihlaja) was discussed. At first as usual, lyrics were to be written in English. But led by something unconscious, the text began to emerge in finnish. This intuition was definitely worth following.

The album's demos were therefore largely ready when singing melodies and text began to be written in the demos. At the same time, when the songs were demoed, tracks were already recorded for the album. Recording sessions were built according to the spirit of the times "remotely" so that each party recorded their share in their own studios.

By late autumn 2021, the recordings were ready. Mixing and mastering were agreed with their final form at the beginning of December. The end result surprised the whole band, the album (Prima Volta) became a really fresh-sounding revelation, not least for the native languge in the text.

The members of the varjo-orkesteri are quite familiar at least to the music people of the home area (South Kymenlaakso). The members have a background from bands such as Omnium Gatherum, Total Devastation, Manitou, Kaihoro, Return To Void, Demonic Death Judge etc.

Track list:

1. Vihtahousun illallinen 2. Hiljaisuuteen sisältyy kaikki 3. Mielenkarkotin 4. Luoto 5. Sydänmusta 6. Kivinen 7. Lootus 8. Kuvajainen 9. Jumalallinen kuolema 10. Kalmanviiva

Luoto single (2022)

Composed by Saku Hakuli/Pasi Hakuli. Lyrics by Markku Pihlaja ISRC: FI-3FC-22-91304


Vocals, Markku Pihlaja Guitar, Saku Hakuli Bass, Pasi Hakuli Drums, Jarmo Pikka

Backing vocals: Teemu Seppälä, Janne Ensola, Jussi Serengil

Recording: Saku Hakuli, Pasi Hakuli, Jarmo Pikka, Markku Pihlaja Mixing: Markku Pihlaja, Peaceville Porridge Ear Studios (FIN)

Mastering: Steve Kitch, SK-Mastering (UK)


2 views0 comments
bottom of page