top of page

Finnish symphonic doom metal band Depressed Mode released a new single and music video

Finnish symphonic doom metal band Depressed Mode released a new single and music video Eternal Darkness!

Promo pic by Jamppa Lamminpää

Finnish symphonic doom/death metal band Depressed Mode released a new single and music video Eternal Darkness which features Veronica Bordacchini from Fleshgod Apocalypse. The track is taken from their upcoming third studio album Decade of Silence which is set to be released on May 6th 2022 via Inverse Records.

Watch Eternal Darkness music video:

Vocalist Otto Salonen comment:

"I forgot Eternal Darkness in a desk drawer so to speak for 15 years. As I was composing for the new album I went through some old songs and this one popped up. The guys wanted instantly to work with it, so I finished the song and the rest is history. The lyrics bypass indirectly the state of the world, but it’s truly a story about darkness."

Listen to Eternal Darkness single on: Youtube: Bandcamp:

Pre-Order Decade of Silence CD:

Watch a music video of first single Endless November featuring Veronica Bordacchini (Fleshgod Apocalypse)

Watch a music video of second single Death Walks Among Us:


Depressed Mode was established in 2005 by composer Otto Salonen. Signed a contract with Firebox Records for two albums in 2006. First album “Ghosts Of Devotion” was released in 2007, and received really good reviews throughout the media. The second album “..For Death” released in 2009, was a success, and a step towards more symphonic death/doom metal, with great reviews as well.

Otto Salonen begun composing DM’s third album in January 2020. The lineup for the new album consists of Otto Salonen, Teemu Heinola, Henri Hakala and Iiro Aittokoski. Veronica Bordacchini from Fleshgod Apocalypse took over the female vocals for the third album.

The album was recorded and mixed at Ansa Studio by Teemu Heinola and Otto Salonen during 2021.

In autumn 2021 Depressed Mode signed a deal with Inverse Records for the third album titled “Decade Of Silence”. The album was mastered by Mika Jussila at Finnvox Studios Helsinki.

Depressed Mode - Decade of Silence (Album 2022) Track list: 1. Death Walks Among Us 2. Endless November 3. Dissociation of the Extinguished Mind 4. As the Light Dims 5. Parasites of Mind 6. Kaamos (Land of Winter) 7. Serpents 8. Eternal Darkness 9. Aeternus

Depressed Mode - Eternal Darkness (Single 2022)

ISRC: FI3FC2240208 Comp. & Lyrics by Otto Salonen

Recorded by Teemu Heinola and Otto Salonen at Ansa Studio Ulvila, Finland. Mixed by Teemu Heinola Mastered at Finnvox Studios Helsinki by Mika Jussila.


Otto Salonen - Vocals and orchestrations Teemu Heinola - Guitars Henri Hakala - Bass Iiro Aittokoski - Drums

Guest musicians:

Veronica Bordacchini - Vocals


2 views0 comments
bottom of page