top of page

Get Your Fists Pumping And Body Moving With TURBO LOVERS’ Rocking Single “Too Cocky”

Get Your Fists Pumping And Body Moving With TURBO LOVERS’ Rocking Single “Too Cocky”

L-R: Keith Dougherty (Bass/Backing Vocals) | B.J. Lisko (Guitar/Vocals) | Christian DeSantis (Drums) Photo credit – Gary Leininger

Turbo Lovers is a fist-pumping, foot-to-the-floor, memorable and inspiring rock ‘n’ roll experience and with a new album out now, they are continuing to bring their distinct brand to listeners around the world. The latest installment in their impressive discography is the album “Lettin’ It Fly!” and they are sharing the video for the single “Too Cocky”. The single is one of nine adding up to 35 minutes of rocking, drinking, gambling, sex, and more rocking. The band explains the single in their own words:

“It’s a song I’m not sure we expected to come out as good as it did. It’s nice when you hear the final mix in the studio and it exceeds expectations. It’s an AC/DC-style tune with more cowbell that’s about people frowning upon bands that put on a bombastic stage show. People sometimes mistake confidence for arrogance. This song is about rock stars being rock stars and putting on a show. The video we shot for this reflects this attitude. It’s a slight nod to the “Bohemian Rhapsody” scene in Wayne’s World, and the whole goal was to make a ridiculous and fun video.”

Watch and listen to “Too Cocky” at

The tracks on “Lettin’ It Fly!” are the freshest material from the band and what they consider to be their strongest. Rocking is a necessity for them, and that passion radiates through their music. They live for the stage and pride themselves on being able to play with a giant variety of bands. In one particular 2-week stretch, they opened for 80s rock legends Loverboy, played with masked surf rock madmen, Daikaiju, and opened for an AC/DC tribute band at the bar owned by former Judas Priest singer, Tim “Ripper” Owens. They are excited to get back to gigging and incorporate these new songs into their live show.

A fist-pumping, foot-to-the-floor, memorable and inspiring rock ‘n’ roll experience awaits in “Lettin’ It Fly!”, and it’s recommended for fans of Kiss, Danko Jones, and Backyard Babies.

“Lettin’ It Fly!” was released on February 4, 2022 and is available for download at, Apple Music, and Spotify.

Music Video - Reasons That We Rhyme -

Track Listing:

1. Should’ve Known Better (4:26)

2. Reasons That We Rhyme (3:19)

3. Too Cocky (4:27)

4. Lettin’ It Fly (3:45)

5. Gave Me A Sign (3:50)

6. Almost Great (3:22)

7. Finally Home (3:22)

8. Under Pressure (3:46)

9. Rockers Extraordinaire (4:23)

Album Length: 34:42

Album Recording Credits:

• All songs performed by: Turbo Lovers

• All songs written by: Turbo Lovers

• Produced by: Dave Piatek

• Mixed by: Dave Piatek and Keith Dougherty

• Mastered by: Dave Piatek

• Album Artwork by: B.J. Lisko

• Member of ASCAP

Album and Live Band Line Up:

B.J. Lisko – Guitar/Vocals

Keith Dougherty – Bass/Backing vocals

Christian DeSantis – Drums

For more info:



Turbo Lovers is a rock ’n’ roll power trio from Youngstown, Ohio that’s equal parts bravado, swagger and fun. Often chastised for taking their name from what some consider the worst Judas Priest album in history, the band’s sound is more akin to AC/DC, The Wildhearts, and Kiss than the New Wave of British Heavy Metal Gods. But yeah, there’s a little Priest in ‘em, too.

“Lettin’ It Fly” is the band’s new 9-track album, and it’s straight-up, infectious, and unpretentious rock.

“We’re sort of like AC/DC and Danko Jones in that with each album we’ll have a few surprises here and there, but it’s reliable working-class rock ’n’ roll,” said guitarist/singer B.J. Lisko. “It’s all about hooks and solid songs, and we feel like we’ve got plenty of those on the new album.”

The band’s steady stream of support shows opening for the likes of Warrant, Kix, Loverboy, Sebastian Bach, Slaughter, Reverend Horton Heat, Blaze Bayley, and Stephen Pearcy, among others, has netted it a solid fan base, and the racket made by three Ohio rock lifers has turned quite a few heads, as well.

The band originally started as a recording project for Lisko before morphing into somewhat of a revolving door of drummers and bass players. Bassist Keith Dougherty and drummer Christian DeSantis joined the band in late 2011, and have been in tow ever since.

“Turbo Lovers didn’t really become Turbo Lovers, officially, until these guys joined,” Lisko said. “It’s a cohesive unit now, and I couldn’t imagine doing this with anybody else.”

“These never-say-die soldiers are the sole sleazers in their luckless mid-US town, yet they make a genre-hopping trucker metal juggernaut that easily straddles The Supersuckers and Y&T in the same goddamn song. – Classic Rock Magazine

“The pride of Youngstown, Ohio. Their headbanging take on AC/DC, shit-kicker country and 80s metal is low-brow and rabble rousing. – Classic Rock Magazine

“Aging rock ‘n’ roll lifers from the guts of Ohio use their arena rock illusions to create an impressively overblown collection of balls-out chug, sort of like Guns N’ Roses with male pattern baldness, bills to pay, and a flabby with that won’t stop bitchin’ at them. Desperation rock lives. Here’s the proof. – Classic Rock Magazine

“Turbo Lovers are, officially, from the worst town in America: Youngstown, Ohio, known far and wide for its off-the-charts unemployment and high school dropout rates, to say nothing of the subsequent crime sprees such circumstances foster. Naturally, they sound like a trailer park Judas Priest robbing a gas station.” – Classic Rock Magazine

“Youngstown’s Turbo Lovers shake rock ‘n’ roll to its very foundation and deliver it in its most basic and timeless form. – Cleveland Free Times

“Fun rock that is light-hearted and unpretentious. Oozing bravado, you can’t help but enjoy the music from this extremely likeable trio.”– Powerplay Magazine

7 views0 comments
bottom of page