top of page

LaMacchia Releases Video For “Bled Out” & Details For Debut Album “Thunderheads” Out May 20

LaMacchia Releases Hypnotic Video For First Single “Bled Out” Alongside Full Details For Debut Album Thunderheads Out May 20 Via Aqualamb Records

See The Video HERE

First-Ever Solo Effort From John LaMacchia, Known For His Work In Candiria

New Material Takes On Experimental Alternative Rock Vibe With Layered Instrumentation & Male-Female Vocal Interplay, Featuring Guest Contributors Kellii Scott (Failure), Michael MacIvor (Candiria), Mario Quintero (Spotlights) & Andrea Horne (Vaureen)

Pre-Sales Available Now For Vinyl, CD, Digital HERE

Each Album Comes With Accompanying 100-Page Art Book

(Photo By Terrence Matlin)

On May 20, the anticipated debut album from LaMacchia will be released via Aqualamb Records. Called Thunderheads, it features nine sweeping tracks that mark the first solo works from John LaMacchia – best known as the guitarist for Brooklyn hardcore/prog-metal group Candiria – though the new material is unlike anything the multi-instrumentalist has done to date and shows a new breadth to his versatile talent.

Today, LaMacchia releases a psychedelic-tinged new video for the first single “Bled Out,” a deep dive through crunchy guitars and free-falling bass, entwined with the candy-sweet vocals blend of LaMacchia and Sabrina Ellie.

See the video for “Bled Out” HERE.

The totality of Thunderheads presents a moody, experimental indie rock vibe, with layered sonic nuances and male-female vocal interplay that presents a dimensional new palette that is comparable to Massive Attack, Doves and Radiohead.

Composed and recorded over the course of 2020 and 2021 during the pandemic break, Thunderheads plays like a lullaby for the apocalypse. With healthy doses of self-respect and emotional bravery that serve as a salve for our pandemic-weary heart, it allows listeners to escape a world that is falling apart with music and creativity.

Early press has picked up favorably on LaMacchia with coverage in Ultimate Guitar as well as Metal Injection and Brooklyn Vegan, the latter of whom captured the live debut at Brooklyn’s Elsewhere-Zero One on March 3. As well, “Bled Out” has been featured on Apple Playlists and a number of radio stations including WBJB, KCSC, WLJS, KALX KEXP and more.

In addition to John LaMacchia, who has recorded all of the guitars, vocals, keyboards and programming for Thunderheads, additional guest contributions come courtesy of Kellii Scott (Failure) on drums, Michael MacIvor (Candiria) on bass guitar, Mario Quintero (Spotlights) on keyboards and Andrea Horne (Vaureen), Candice Freshko and Sabrina Ellie on vocals.

Says Kellii Scott, “At the time when John submitted songs to me to play on, I was completely unfamiliar with his history and pedigree as a musician. That being said I did know that he had written some really great material, with great melody and arrangements and that I was going to have a fantastic time playing on his songs. In particular I found ‘Bled Out’ to be really inspiring to play, so much so that I channeled a drummer that I previously had never been.”

The track lising for Thunderheads includes:

  1. Bled Out

  2. Put You Down

  3. A Ghost Of Tectonic Plates

  4. It’s All Over Now

  5. Angels Delight

  6. Disconnect

  7. Pagliacci Kid

  8. Bad Penny


Presales for Thunderheads are available now at Aqualamb Records’ website with blue and pink vinyl variants, CD and digital options. Each purchase comes with an accompanying 100-page book filled with lush artwork, drawings, lyrics and additional content to get inside the mind of LaMacchia and the creative process.

LaMacchia also has a show on Sunday April 17 at Brooklyn’s Union Pool with label mates Frayle. Find ticket information here:

About LaMacchia LaMacchia is the new project led by musician and artist John LaMacchia of Brooklyn prog-metal’s legendary Candiria. The result is what we wish post-aughts music would have sounded like; layered with new-wave moodiness, and akin to Autolux, Massive Attack, Doves and Liars, to name a few. And with the musicians he sought out to fulfill that burden, including Kellii Scott on drums (Failure), Michael MacIvor on bass (Candiria), Mario Quintero (Spotlights) and vocalists Sabrina Ellie, Candice Freshko and Andrea Horne (Vaureen).



About Aqualamb Records

Inspired by the lack of album art in the age of invisible music, Brooklyn-based record label AQUALAMB publishes 100+ page printed books of artwork and writings as a tangible accompaniment to its releases. Essentially, each album's art and liner notes (traditionally confined to an LP gatefold, a CD booklet, or the screen of some music-playing device) are reconfigured into book form. Each book includes links to the music and digital content.

3 views0 comments


bottom of page