top of page

LANTLOS present third single 'Lich'

LANTLOS release third single 'Lich' taken from new album "Wildhund"

With love comes pain:On 'Lich', the third single taken from their forthcomingfull-length "Wildhund" ("Wild Dog"), LANTLOS reveal their claws by not shying away from multi-layered dissonance and noise elements. The album is scheduled to hit stores on July 30, 2021. The German alternative metal project headed by multi-instrumentalist Markus Siegenhort has previously revealed cover art, tracklist, and further details of the new full-length, which can all be viewed below.

The track 'Lich' is available via the following link:

LANTLOS band pictures and graphic materials are available at this link:

LANTLOS 'Lich' taken from the album "Wildhund"

LANTLOS comment: "The song 'Lich' revolves around the theme of getting lost", states Markus Siegenhort. "It is shaped by the idea of diving deeper and deeper into a glittering azure ocean of tar. For a very long time, you go further into the depths of a shiny, crystalline zone and you blissfully enter the otherworld. You detach yourself from your daily life and reality. You even start to hate it. You want to believe that the ocean is your only source of inspiration, the only place you want to be in, and you try to drink it all up. Yet finally you arrive at the point when you get fed up. You start to feel sick and you find yourself in some weird in between world without contours where you feel nothing anymore. You just want to feel normal again. You have turned into a hollow corpse with no life left inside. In fact, you have become a lich!"


3. Cocoon Tree House

4. Home

5. Vertigo

6. The Bubble

7. Amber

8. Cloud Inhaler

9. Planetarium

10. Dream Machine

11. Dog in the Wild

12. Lich

Some bands are highly regarded by their fans as they keep delivering great albums in the same style over and over. LANTLOS are clearly not one of those. The followers of this outstanding metal entity lead by instigator and mastermind Markus Siegenhort rather value the ever changing nature and constant evolution of his bubbling musical creativity.

With their fifth full-length, "Wildhund" ("Wild Dog"), LANTLOS once again shed their sonic skin and emerge from their inspirational chrysalis a quite different animal than the one before. The Germans have turned into an alternative metal butterfly with songs meandering along colourful streams through beautiful wide open soundscapes that defy easy comparison but can tentatively be located somewhere in that warped sonic space between DEVIN TOWNSEND, SMASHING PUMPKINS, HUM, and MOTORPSYCHO. This collection of amazing songs also comes with the gravity defying, inverted heaviness of DEFTONES and a strong dose of catchiness that in unobserved moments even leans towards the FOO FIGHTERS.

"The album is named 'Wildhund', which is German for a dog born or living in the wilderness", explains Markus. "Its themes revolve around freedom, cherry blossoms, summer, having a sunny birthday as a kid, bubblegum, the smell of mint, sweetness, the colours of pink and baby blue, childhood memories, a lemon in a glass of water, glitter, nostalgia, kitsch, and many more up to the point when it becomes 'too much'. It's like that kind of 'so utterly sweet' that it tastes artificial, strange, and confusing. Aesthetics on overdrive, hypnotic but powerful. This is 'hardcore' softness, if that makes any sense."

When multi-instrumentalist Markus Siegenhort founded LANTLOS together with his friend Anggrau in 2005, their music was still quite influenced by black metal. This is darkly reflected on the band’s rare first demo "Îsern Himel" and their self-titled debut album, which both appeared in 2008. "Lantlôs" featured contributions from EÏS fronter Florian "Alboin" Dammasch, whom Markus replaced with ALCEST vocalist and guitarist Stéphane "Neige" Paut for the next two full-length releases ".neon" (2010) and "Agape" (2011). It is hardly surprising that these albums are stylistically located in the context of blackgaze or post-black metal.

With ".neon", the German mastermind lyrically dealt with the psychological condition of "derealization", which means that a person's perception of the surrounding world feels unreal, distant and sometimes even distorted or false. Such feelings are a recurrent lyrical theme throughout the works of LANTLOS and even the band name, which derives from the Middle High German word "lantlôs" meaning "homeless" or literally "without land".

On "Agape", the multi-instrumentalist decided to quit the sticks for medical reasons and recruited Felix Wylezik, who has occupied the drummer's stool ever since. With their fourth album "Melting Sun" (2014), LANTLOS again changed course. Markus parted ways amicably with Neige and instead adopted the vocal duties himself. This fit his musical shift further away from the black metal origins of his band.

The path that LANTLOS started to take with "Melting Sun" has led the band after a creative break even deeper into uncharted metal territories. For those looking for fresh ideas and rich flavours, while being open to alternative ways to create riff-based, guitar-driven music, "Wildhund" is the perfect colourful gift in bleak times.

Release date: July 30, 2021 Line-upMarkus Siegenhort – vocals, guitars, bass, synthesizer Felix Wylezik – drums

Guest musician

Jan Kerscher – background vocals on 'Magnolia' & 'The Bubble'

Style: Alternative Metal Recording, production & mix by Markus Siegenhort Vocal recording by Jan Kerscher at Ghost City Recordings Mastered by Philipp Welsing at Original Mastering Photos by S. Friesen Links Pre-sale link Band pictures and graphic materials (click here for Dropbox) Available formats "Wildhund" is available as a hardcover 36-page 2CD book edition incl. enhanced artwork and a 14 track bonus CD “Glitchking”, as Gatefold-LP on 180g black vinyl and as Digibook CD. (The 180g rosé vinyl LP edition is already sold out.)

2 views0 comments


bottom of page