top of page

New BODOM AFTER MIDNIGHT EP, “Paint the Sky with Blood”, is OUT NOW!

BODOM AFTER MIDNIGHT’s New EP, Paint the Sky with Blood,

OUT NOW | Save Your Copy HERE

Listen to their new track “Payback’s A BitchHERE!

[photo credit: Terhi Ylimäinen]

Paint The Sky With Blood shines with murderous riffing that dizzyingly oscillates between razor-sharp and perfectly melodic, super-tight thrash to blast beats and the COB-typical atmospheric keyboard carpet.”


"BODOM AFTER MIDNIGHT was a simple continuation of the groundbreaking blend of extreme metal and melodic histrionics that made Alexi one of modern metal’s most enduring icons"


"The guitar hero's posthumous farewell salute to his fans - and how he's hitting it off with it again!"


"Paint The Sky With Blood is an amazing disc [...] Buy this record when it comes out. It’s well worth the money to add to any worthwhile metal collection.”


“... a beautiful swan song of a gifted guitarist and songwriter, who will be missed. Rest in peace!”

“... it felt like the Finnish wildchild [...] had woven himself so integrally into the fabric of modern metal that he could never truly go away.”


BODOM AFTER MIDNIGHT say hello and goodbye with three spectacular songs [...] very special, sometimes controversial, always inspiring.”


"This three-track EP makes clear that BAM would have hardened into a new and devastating Multiple Independent Reentry Vehicle for Laiho’s songwriting.”


Today was meant to celebrate a vigorous manifestation of a brand new metal era and now pays tribute to an incomparable guitarist, artist and visionary of his time. Today, BODOM AFTER MIDNIGHT releases their highly-anticipated three-track EP, Paint the Sky with Blood, via Napalm Records.

The EP that was recorded back in Finland was intended to be followed by a full-length album later in the year, but now embodies a whole new meaning and remains as the only work by BODOM AFTER MIDNIGHT. Paint the Sky with Blood is undeniable evidence of the late Alexi Laiho's artistic spirit and his extraordinary musical skills in synthesis with his absolutely talented bandmates Daniel Freyberg, Waltteri Väyrynen, Mitja Toivonen and live keyboardist Vili Itäpelto. Not only do the band's final recordings see the light today, but the matching visualizer for "Payback’s A Bitch" is also out now via Napalm Records.

"Like ourselves, Alexi was beyond stoked about these songs and anxious to get these out, so we are happy that we can fulfill his wish. Needless to say, we are honored and proud to be a part of his very last creative work and to unleash it the way he wanted it. It’s time to let the beast out of the cage one more time as a celebration of Alexi’s music, legacy and the man himself." - BODOM AFTER MIDNIGHT

Heavy title track “Paint the Sky with Blood” sets the stage for the 14-minute EP of the same name, and is strikingly reminiscent of early-CHILDREN OF BODOM elements while also adding exciting modern influences into the fold. Second stunner “Payback’s A Bitch” and its massive riffing are on a quest for retribution, delivering a hard-hitting, second to none offense. The interplay of Alexi Laiho, guitarist Daniel Freyberg, drummer Waltteri Väyrynen (Paradise Lost), bassist Mitja Toivonen (ex-Santa Cruz) and live keyboardist Vili Itäpelto is not only a testament to the band's extraordinary musical ability, but also showcases their skill in deftly incorporating a variety of genre influences.

Closing cover track “Where Dead Angels Lie” is an absolute triumph – originally performed by Swedish extreme metal formation Dissection, the track shines as a timeless classic with a new edge. Eerie riffs and vocals alternating between menacing murmurs and characteristic guttural, distorted vocals stay faithful to the original while branding this version with an undeniable BODOM AFTER MIDNIGHT punch.

Paint the Sky with Blood Tracklisting:

01. Paint the Sky with Blood

02. Payback’s A Bitch

03. Where Dead Angels Lie (Dissection Cover)

Paint the Sky with Blood is available in the following formats:

- 10" Spined Sleeve Oxblood - SOLD OUT

- 10" Spined Sleeve Black

- 10" Spined Sleeve Inkspot Ox/Black - SOLD OUT

- 10" Spined Sleeve Glow in the Dark

- Deluxe Box -SOLD OUT

- 1 Digipak Mini CD

- Digital Album


Alexi Laiho - guitar & vocals

Daniel Freyberg - guitar

Mitja Toivonen - bass

Waltteri Väyrynen - drums


3 views0 comments


bottom of page