top of page




Photo Credit: Thomas Groom

Aussie metal quintet PRIDELANDS has revealed a new single, "The Lake of Twisted Limbs," from their forthcoming album, "Light Bends," that's due out January 14th from SharpTone Records. Fans can stream the new track and watch the music video at the links below.

Stream "The Lake of Twisted Limbs":

Watch "The Lake of Twisted Limbs" Music Video:

Commenting on the new single, the band states:

"The Lake of Twisted Limbs was a song that in a lot of ways came naturally in the writing process but took an emotional toll on all of us. It’s about attempting to pull someone back from the brink of total self-destruction and how ultimately that attempt is futile if that person refused to be saved. Getting better is sadly a choice that someone needs to make for themselves. So, in essence, the song is about reaching out despite being aware of the futility there. I think we’ve all felt that in one way or another - perhaps from both sides of the coin."

PRIDELANDS new song follows a string of crushing singles from "Light Bends" the band has rolled out over the last few months including "The Walls" and "Heavy Tongue," which has stirred up incredible excitement and anticipation around the world. The upcoming record was produced by Jamie Marinos and band, mixed by George Lever at G1 Productions UK (Loathe, Sleep Token) and mastered by Ermin Hamidovic at Systematic Productions AUS (Architects, Northlane, Periphery).

The band adds about the new album:

"'Light Bends' is a very personal record for us in every sense of the word. The lyrics, the instrumentals, the melodies were all written because they were stories that we wanted to tell and songs that we wanted to hear. It delves into a lot of subjects, and a lot of them came from our collective life experiences. It was therapeutic for all of us to come together, share our pain and trauma and weave it together it into our debut record. There’s nothing we would change about it and the team we worked with to make it happen are incredible from top to bottom. We sincerely hope that the people out there who listen to it can connect to Light Bends emotionally in the way that we have."

"Light Bends" Tracklisting:

1. I Reach Into Your Heart

2. The Walls

3. Parallel Lines

4. Parted Time

5. The Lake of Twisted Limbs

6. Safer Here

7. Heavy Tongue

8. Antipathy

9. Translucent Blues

10. Evergrowth

11. The Sun Will Find Us

“There can be no hope without despair, no love without loss,” Pridelands’ vocalist/lyricist Joshua Cory explains of Light Bends’ core lyrical concept. “The chaos is the balance and we must bend toward its will, accepting the shadow as part of the light.”

“I never in a million years would’ve imagined that our debut album would end up this way,” Liam Fowler – the Melbourne-based, five-piece metal band’s guitarist/primary songwriter – proudly admits. “Being our debut album, we wanted it to be ‘perfect’.”

Mission accomplished! As soon as you press play on Light Bends, you’ll be glued to the spot; all ears and powerless to this album’s extreme impact.

As spoilt for choice as Pridelands were in terms of choosing a lead single, they eventually decided on Heavy Tongue. Heavy both instrumentally and in terms of its message, this song shines a harsh spotlight on the corruption and mismanagement of the devastating bushfires that raged through Australia from 2019 to 2020. An ominous drone introduces the song, like a shame spiral spewing forth rapidfire riffs and pelting drums. Simultaneous clean and unclean vocals spit unanimous vitriol: “By the time that you accept/ That we’re on fire/ The midnight oil spills out from the urn/ But all our beds are damned to burn away.”

Elsewhere, opening track I Reach Into Your Heart mourns the devastating impact humanity has had on our planet and Parallel Lines boasts enough sonic ideas and seismic dynamic shifts within the one track to fill an entire album.

The arrangements throughout Pridelands’ striking 11-song collection are supple, lurching, unpredictable and exhilarating. Prepare to be blown away by sudden shifts in tone as serene moments are invaded, unexpectedly, by brutality and chaos. An undercurrent of unease simmers menacingly below the surface, but there’s a sense that catharsis is just out of reach. Pridelands take aim and really take it there on their debut record. Light Bends is one hellavu wild ride.

Jamie Marinos sat in the producer’s chair for Pridelands’ second EP, 2018’s critically acclaimed Any Colour You Desire, and returned to the fold for Light Bends. But when COVID-related lockdown struck, the band took over production and engineering duties.


Joshua Cory (vocals), Mason Bunt (vocals), Liam Fowler (guitar), Daniel Lohrey (bass) and Joe Lipsham (drums).


26 views0 comments


bottom of page