top of page

Prog Band Shumaun Release Second Single “Under the Sun” ft. Leo Margarit (Pain of Salvation)

Prog Band Shumaun Release Second Single “Under the Sun” ft. Leo Margarit (Pain of Salvation)

New Album “Memories & Intuition” Out September 10th

Featuring An All-Star Lineup of Drummers

Ft. Thomas Lang (Peter Gabriel, Paul Gilbert), Atma Anur (Jason Becker, Tony Macalpine), Mark Zonder (Fates Warning, Warlord), Leo Margarit (Pain of Salvation), and Chris DeChiara

Shumaun (L to R) Jose Mora: Bass, Farhad Hossain: Vocals, Guitar, Keys, Tyler Kim: Guitar

Shumaun is a progressive metal band from Virgina, USA. This September they will be releasing a third album “Memories & Intuition”, from which they are now showcasing the second single, “Under the Sun” ft. Pain of Salvation drummer Leo Margarit, with a captivating lyric video.

“The opening guitar chords were very much inspired by the guitar work of Robin Guthrie of Cocteau Twins,” says Farhad Hossain. It is also good to note that unlike their previous album “Memories & Intuition” is not a concept album, but more thematically driven. The band explains the track further:

“Several aspects of the song are almost experimental. The backing vocals are not just doing harmonies, but they add another dimension to the lead vocals.” adds Tyler Kim.

“The music paints a dark mood, and the vocal melody is hauntingly beautiful and catchy. I love the breaks before the choruses. The ‘Shumaunic’ signature makes its way into the choruses since they’re in 7/4 time, yet doesn’t sound odd because of the groove. One of my favorites on the album for sure,” Jose Mora elaborates.

On this album, Shumaun wants the listener to be able to feel a connection to the melodies and lyrics. Expecting that everyone’s listening experience will be different, they just want the honesty and integrity of the music to resonate with the listener in whatever shape or form that may be. The band provides an accessible approach to modern progressive rock, with ambitious melodies and catchy harmonies.

Alongside the regular band lineup, on this album, Shumaun employs the talents of legendary drummers Thomas Lang (Peter Gabriel, Paul Gilbert), Atma Anur (Jason Becker, Tony Macalpine), and Mark Zonder (Fates Warning, Warlord). Drummers Leo Margarit (Pain of Salvation) and Chris DeChiara also contributed.

Shumaun’s brand of progressive rock is recommended for fans of Dream Theater, Porcupine Tree, and Fates Warning.

“Under the Sun” can be heard via its premiere on MetalInjection HERE.

“Memories & Intuition” is releasing on September 10, 2021.

First single “Memories of Water” -

Track Listing:

1. A Subtle Invocation (3:20)

2. Prisoners (3:51)

3. Memories of Water (3:33)

4. Jabriel's Song (5:59)

5. Invincible (7:22)

6. Under the Sun (5:06)

7. The Pursuit of Happiness (5:11)

8. Tides (4:28)

9. Intuition Underground (4:39)

10. Breathing Light (9:00)

11. A Planetary Shift (5:40)

12. The Day We Said Goodbye (5:18)

Album Length: 1:03:26

Album Band Line Up:

Farhad Hossain - Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards

Jose Mora - Bass

Tyler Kim - Guitars

Drums: Thomas Lang (Tracks 2, 5, 9, 10)

Drums: Mark Zonder (Tracks 1, 3)

Drums: Atma Anur (Tracks 4, 7)

Drums: Leo Margarit (Tracks 6, 8)

Drums: Chris DeChiara (Track 11)

Additional keyboards on “Tides” by Bill Whitney

For more info:


Shumaun initially started as a solo project by Farhad Hossain (ex singer/guitarist/keyboardist of Iris Divine). After recording a few demos, he decided to recruit a few friends to help build the project into a full-fledged collaborative band. Through the course of recording their self-titled debut album, Shumaun went through a period of tribulation while securing a drummer. Original drummer Tanvir Tomal (ex Iris Divine) had to leave for professional obligations in the middle of the recording sessions and was later replaced with Waqar Khan (Entity Paradigm), who is also well known for his work with the platinum-selling Ali Azmat of the EMI recording artist Junoon (one of South Asia's most successful rock bands). Waqar remained with the band long enough to record a few tracks on the debut record as well as appear live for some of the earlier shows. Travis Orbin (Darkest Hour, Periphery), Mark Zonder (Fates Warning, Warlord) recorded the remaining drums on the debut record that was released in the fall of 2015. Tanvir has since returned to the band as the live drummer.

2019 saw the band releasing their sophomore album "One Day Closer to Yesterday." The album was once again mixed by Brett Caldas-Lima at Tower Studio in France. The album was rawer and heavier, but the melodies and vocals were never compromised. It includes the bombastic prog metal single “Go.”

2021 sees Shumaun releasing their third album “Memories & Intuition,” which features the amazing drumming of legends such as Thomas Lang (Peter Gabriel, Paul Gilbert), Atma Anur (Jason Becker, Tony Macalpine), Mark Zonder (Fates Warning, Warlord), and Leo Margarit (Pain of Salvation). Shumaun once again tapped Brett Caldas-Lima and Tower Studio for mixing and mastering. The album is their most melodic to date and consists of their single "Memories of Water."

The Shumaun sound is shaped by the soaring vocals and lead guitar work of Farhad Hossain, the pounding melodic bass lines of Jose Mora, and the subtle guitar nuances of Tyler Kim. The band has received many accolades, and have made it onto several “album of the year” lists from sites such as Progressive Music Planet, Decibel Geek, and Metal Asylum etc. The band also won The Deli Magazine’s “Best of 2015” for Washington DC bands, and have been featured on Revolver Magazine, and Decibel Magazine.

9 views0 comments


bottom of page