top of page

Rockshots Records: Environmental Prog VENUS SYNDROME Single “Sideral Groove” Off Upcoming Album

Rockshots Records: Environmental Prog VENUS SYNDROME Streaming First Single “Sideral Groove” Off Upcoming Album “Cannibal Star”

“Cannibal Star” Due Out October 22, 2021

Venus Syndrome will be releasing their sophomore album “Cannibal Star” on October 22nd, via Rockshots Records.

Formed originally as a Dream Theater cover band under the moniker MetroTheater, it wasn't too soon after that drummer Thibaud Pontet (Eternal Flight), guitarist Ayman Mokdad (Alien Encounters), keyboardist Rodolfo Lima Sproesser (Goiana, Tahra, Heretic, Floyd Rose cover Pink Floyd), bassist Florian Guidat and vocalist Emmanuelson (Ellipsis, Rising Steel, Hydroflame) were keen to create something more.

It came under the suggestion of main composer and guitarist Ayman Mokdad to the rest of the band that he had written original material inspired by the concept of the "Venus Syndrome", in which the Earth undergoes runaway warming and the oceans boil off and is viewed as the greatest threat to humanity's existence (more info here).

From those lyrical and musical ideals, Venus Syndrome offered up their self-titled debut album during April 2020 all while being an international collaboration between musicians on two sides of the globe. Rodolfo Lima Sproesser is based in Brazilian while the rest of the group is in France.

Carefully crafting power melodies, intricate hard rocking rhythms and soaring vocals inspired by the likes of Russell Allen (Symphony X), Warrel Dane (Nevermore) and Ray Adler (Fates Warning), the band is ready to introduce their next recording and the sophomore full-length “Cannibal Star”.

Recruiting Simone Mularoni (Domination Studio, Ultra-Violence, T/L Rhapsody, Eternal Idol, Eldritch, Elvenking) for mixing and mastering, the new album is a more mature production compared to their self-recorded effort. On “Cannibal Star”, Venus Syndrome showcases eleven tracks for fans to not just enjoy its melodic progressive metal groove, but also go beyond the listening experience and understand the message behind their music.

"Humanity will disappear if each one of us, each individual do not contribute to safeguarding it. Art, and particularly music is a healer and can help us reach the target and build something strong for our kids and their kids hopefully." says guitarist and composer Ayman Mokdad.

The band decided on the tracks not just on record, but how they would be best performed for a memorable live experience and the importance of its messaging for saving our planet and humanity.

"There's an amazing live show that goes with these songs, that’s why there is an instrumental ouverture, an instrumental interlude, and an ending part on the song “Contaminate Me” that we can play with the audience for several minutes. They can expect all the energy and power of the universe. We want them to sing our songs long after the show."

In preview to its release, the progressive metal group is sharing their first single “Sideral Groove”, a groovy seven strings song, where the chorus says it all.

"Music is our life our companion and the reason to live. Our mission to believe in." adds the band.

Listen to “Sideral Groove” at the following links:

Track Listing:

1. Ouverture 2040 (2:41)

2. Dark Side of The Sun (4:07)

3. Sideral Groove (5:33)

4. Sun Inside Me (4:53)

5. Golden Mind (4:37)

6. Empire of The End (4:12)

7. Cannibal Star (3:11)

8. Breaking The Black Stars (4:23)

9. Tunnel of Light (3:31)

10. Like A Monster (4:08)

11. Contaminate Me (4:40)

Album Length: 46:01

For more info:

6 views0 comments


bottom of page