top of page

RUBY THE HATCHET announce US summer tour with ELDER

RUBY THE HATCHET announce US summer tour with ELDER

The New Jersey psychedelic rockers will support their "Live at Earthquaker" EP release from Magnetic Eye Records with a run of tour dates this August

New Jersey riffmasters RUBY THE HATCHET have announced they'll be joining progressive-psych band ELDER and prog-doom group DREADNOUGHT on tour later this summer. The excursion begins in New York City on August 3rd and culminates on August 18th in Las Vegas at the PSYCHO LAS VEGAS "Psycho Swim" pool party.


April 20 - Boston, MA - Middle East/Downstairs (w/CANDLEMASS)

April 22 - Canton, OH - Buzzbin

April 23 - Columbus, OH - The Spacebar

April 24 - Chicago, IL - Thalia Hall (w/CANDLEMASS)


Aug 3 - Brooklyn, NY - Elsewhere

Aug 4 - Philadelphia, PA - Underground Arts

Aug 5 - Pittsburgh, PA - Mr. Small's Funhouse

Aug 6 - Baltimore, MD - Metro Gallery

Aug 7 - Charlottesville, VA - Championship Brewing

Aug 8 - Raleigh, NC - The Pour House

Aug 9 - Atlanta, GA - The Earl

Aug 10 - Orlando, FL - Will's Pub

Aug 12 - Houston, TX - White Oak

Aug 13 - Austin, TX - The Ballroom

Aug 14 - Fort Worth, TX - Tulips

Aug 16 - Albuquerque, NM - Sister Bar

Aug 17 - Phoenix, AZ - The Rebel Lounge

RUBY THE HATCHET are set to release their new EP "Live at Earthquaker" on April 22nd via Magnetic Eye Records.

"Live at Earthquaker" features early organic and raw versions of two brand-new songs recorded entirely live at EarthQuaker Devices headquarters in Akron, Ohio during the band's US tour with KADAVAR, with the cherry on top being the physical format debut of their raucous version of URIAH HEEP's 70s anthem 'Easy Livin’'. The EP's two new songs will reappear in fully-produced recordings on the New Jersey riff-rockers' new studio album that has been announced for 2022.

The video clip for '1000 Years' was recorded live and produced at EarthQuaker Devices, and is now available via this link:

RUBY THE HATCHETband pictures and graphic materials are available at this link: (click here for Dropbbox)

RUBY THE HATCHET comment: "Our first foray with Magnetic Eye Records is going to be a major ear-tease, showcasing an in-studio live session recorded at Earthquaker Headquarters of two new songs from our upcoming studio full-length", says singer Jillian Taylor. "We had been road-dogging for a few years straight and felt very much in the pocket. As we tested out new material throughout the tour, these two songs were fan favorites every night. 'Primitive Man' is an in-the-pocket groover that everyone gets to riff on. '1,000 Years' is an emotionally long-winding melodic ballad that had me sharing tears with strangers in the crowd as we closed our set with it each night. Jeff France and the Earthquaker crew captured us at the height of our tour tightness, and we love that these songs were captured live with footage from EQ and exist in their own realm, apart from their studio versions which came a year later. Oddly enough, our cover of 'Easy Livin'' was also tracked live and without computers, so it only felt right for it to make a vinyl debut along with our other raw cuts. This live session deserved a special release of its own, and we cannot wait to get it out and build some excitement for what's to come on our new album."


2. Primitive Man

3. Easy Livin' (Uriah Heep cover)

With sultry, honey-smoked vocals, lush yet crisp guitars and spirit of rock 'n roll organ heroics, it takes just a few seconds for luxuriant opening track '1000 Years' from RUBY THE HATCHET's hot-blooded new EP to firmly sink its hooks into ears and hearts.

The scorching riff-masters emerged from a New Jersey basement in 2011 with a take on heavy psychedelic rock that stands apart from the endless procession of vintage-mining bands. The sensuous yet strong vocal signature of singer Jillian Taylor and Johnny Scarps' deep-fried old school riffing combined with the RAINBOW and DEEP PURPLE-style organ flavours of keyboardist Sean Hur created an early buzz from the start.

Even on their first release, the 2011 self-titled "Ruby the Hatchet" EP, the basic ingredients that built the foundation of the band's appeal were there. Their occult-flavoured hard rock with mythical lyrics and a witches' brew of classic guitar power spread from a local spark to an underground wildfire, which RUBY THE HATCHET further fueled via their self-released debut full-length "Ouroboros" (2012).

RUBY THE HATCHET's sophomore 2015 album, "Valley of the Snake" finally delivered the ever-evolving band into the ears and consciousness of the heavy music scene worldwide. After two years of heavy global touring which saw them hit the road with KADAVAR, BLACK MOUNTAIN, EARTHLESS, ARTHUR BROWN, UNCLE ACID & THE DEADBEATS and THE SWORD, the quintet's latest album, "Planetary Space Child", was released in 2017 and widely greeted with universal praise as well as debuting on the Billboard Top Indie Albums Chart.

A captivating glimpse of great things to come, the unpolished, organic energy coursing through "Live at Earthquaker" sets the stage for RUBY THE HATCHET's much-anticipated return with both a new album and tours still ahead in 2022.

Release date: April 22, 2022


Jillian Taylor – vocals

Johnny Scarps – guitar

Lake Muir – bass

Owen Stewart – drums, vocals

Sean Hur – keyboards, organ

Style: Psychedelic Heavy Rock

Recorded and mixed by Jeffrey France at EQD Audio Recording Laboratory

Available formats

"Live at Earthquaker" will only be released on physical formats. The EP is available on 7" red vinyl,on 7" black vinyl, and as a digisleeve CD.


Band pictures and graphic materials

7 views0 comments


bottom of page