top of page

Stoner Rock Shamans MONSTER MAGNET Offer Their Take on Dust’s “Learning To Die”

Stoner Rock Shamans MONSTER MAGNET Offer Their Take on Dust’s “Learning To Die” | Listen HERE

New Covers Album, A Better Dystopia, Out May 21, 2021

via Napalm Records | Pre-Order HERE

Napalm Records is pleased to present the next chapter in psychedelic rock icons MONSTER MAGNET’s rabbit hole deep dive, A Better Dystopia (out May 21, 2021): a delightfully (and psychotically) curated collection of 60’s and 70’s proto-metal and late-era psych obscurities covered by the heavy New Jersey legends themselves.

While the album marks a new frontier for MONSTER MAGNET as their first covers record, this is not your typical set of standards released to pass time. A Better Dystopia sees the band pay homage to some of their favorite songs of all time, while reflecting on the paranoia, dystopia and revolution of both now – and then.

Today, fans can get a second glimpse into the album with a video of the band’s cover of classic Dust track, “Learning To Die.”

Of the song selection, frontman Dave Wyndorf says:

“‘Learning To Die’ blew me away when I was 15 and it still blows me away. Man, do I LOVE to sing this song. Dust was one of the greats."

Watch the new official video for “Learning To Die” HERE

Dave Wyndorf says about the birth of A Better Dystopia:

“We all agreed that we would be bored out of our minds within a month of lockdown. MONSTER MAGNET loves the road. It’s a lifestyle. So, I considered our options. Rather than panhandle on the internet, hawking masks and Zoom-rocking practice sessions for dollars, I suggested we record a “bunker record”. A total DIY affair (band only) recorded and mixed in Bob Pantella’s small but potent Freak Shop Studios/rehearsal space right here in New Jersey. But what to record?

I didn’t feel much like writing, but working on anything was better than watching the news as hospitals filled up, people died, and American politics went bat-shit crazy. The world roared “Dystopia! Apocalypse! Revolution!”. I’d heard those words before, and they brought to mind my childhood in the late 60’s/early 70’s… and the music… and short playlist of songs (just one of many) that I’d been carrying around with me on my whatever device to listen to before shows. Of course, these tunes have also been in my head for more or less my whole life. These were not the popular hits of the time. This was like a playlist from the 4th dimension… strange bits of musical obscurity, mostly dredged up from that inglorious and freaky “twilight zone” time that preceded Arena Rock, Heavy Metal, Reggae and Disco. A no-man’s land of hard rock that still had remnants of psychedelia and garage punk but had abandoned any notion of “flower power” or frat house fun. And of course, they rocked.

Yeah, these songs were it.”

Wyndorf is at the top of his game on A Better Dystopia, delivering each lyric in his own inimitable style, and musicians Phil Caivano, Bob Pantella, Garrett Sweeney and Alec Morton own the sound – vintage and old school, dense and heavy, with searing fuzz leads and pounding bass and drums all played in a deft style that's almost been lost in modern music. The album opens with “The Diamond Mine”, as Dave Wyndorf recites a classic monologue by Dave Diamond, an American radio DJ whose programs in the late 60’s and early 70’s helped popularize many psychedelic and acid rock bands. At this point the real trip begins, as the opening chords of the Hawkwind classic “Born To Go” gear up for launch. Tracks like standout “Mr. Destroyer” (Poo-Bah) spur visions of some untold Freak revolution – or perhaps dinosaurs battling on a burning planet at the end of time – creating a perfect blend of hard rock and psychedelia. Feverish “Motorcycle (Straight To Hell)” (Table Scraps) is pure punk fury of the old school tradition, evoking a cross between Iggy Pop and Motörhead as Wyndorf wails "I'm gonna drive it straight to HELL!" Falling even further down the mind-bending rabbit hole, Magnet offers their stunning, whirlwind take on the often-overlooked hard rock classic "Learning To Die" (Dust) and a masterful version the Stooges meets Goth epic, "Solid Gold Hell" (The Scientists). The album closes with a bonus nuclear cover of Morgen’s “Welcome To The Void”, inviting you to restart the ride again and again.

Pre-Order A Better Dystopia HERE

2LP Gatefold Pink Transparent (Napalm mailorder only – limited to 300)

A Better Dystopia tracklisting:

1. The Diamond Mine

2. Born to Go

3. Epitaph for a Head

4. Solid Gold Hell

5. Be Forewarned

6. Mr. Destroyer

7. When the Wolf Sits

8. Death

9. Situation

10. It’s Trash

11. Motorcycle (Straight to Hell)

12. Learning to Die

13. Welcome to the Void - Bonus Track

A Better Dystopia will be available in North America in the following formats:

- Digital Album

- 4 page CD Digipack

- 4 page CD Digipack + Patch (Napalm mailorder only)

- 2LP Gatefold Black

- 2LP Gatefold Pink Transparent (Napalm mailorder only – limited to 300)

- 2LP Gatefold Cuaracao (Napalm mailorder only – limited to 500) NEW!

- 2LP Gatefold Purple (Napalm mailorder only – limited to 300) NEW!

- 2LP Gatefold Glow In The Dark (Napalm mailorder only – limited to 200) SOLD OUT

- Limited Die Hard Edition: 2LP Gatefold Neon Green/Black Splatter + Slipmat (Napalm mailorder only – limited to 200) SOLD OUT

Can’t get enough MONSTER MAGNET? Pre-orders are now available for limited edition vinyl represses of both Mindfucker and Mastermind in the Napalm Records store! Visit HERE to order your copies before they’re gone.

[Photo Credit: Gonzales Photo/Per-Otto Oppi/Alamy Live News]


Dave Wyndorf - Vocals, Guitar

Phil Caivano - Guitar

Garret Sweeny - Guitar

Alec Morton - Bass

Bob Pantella - Drums


3 views0 comments


bottom of page