top of page

Streaming Now! Progressive Metal Meets Intricate Storytelling In DAY OF DEPARTURE’s Debut S/T Album

Progressive Metal Meets Intricate Storytelling In DAY OF DEPARTURE’s Debut S/T Album

Album Stream Premiere via TheProgSpace

Debut Self-Titled Album Out March 25, 2022 via Bravemusic

L-R - Ben Kelly (Bass), Scott Loose (Guitars, Keys), Michelle Schrotz (Vocals, Keys), Trevor Schrotz (Drums), Matt Kozar (Guitars, Keys)

Photo credit - David Wright

Day of Departure, from Washington D.C., have been working on their self-titled debut album for the last two years and their proggy, sci-fi-inspired narrative debut is now premiering on TheProgSpace. The ten tracks fuse ambient, spacey post-rock with a story of the destruction of our planet, and then the need to evolve and find a new path forward for survival.

The band first developed the overall concept of the story and thought about the progression of that narrative. Next came focusing on the ebb and flow of the record and where they wanted to take the listener in terms of dynamics, pace, and feel, and used that as the basis for writing the other tracks. Each of the songs has a purpose throughout the full-length, but can stand alone as well. The band explains the creation of the listening experience:

“Even though the foundations of most of the songs were initially developed by Matt Kozar, there was plenty of room for collaboration to get to the final versions of the songs on the album. Whether it was considering different phrasing for vocals, development of different rhythms/beats from initial demos, or the inclusion of more layers of guitars and keys to contribute to the canvas of sound. We think fans of our other projects, Brave and Stellar Death, will recognize and appreciate the ways in which we have been able to integrate the vast array of sounds and styles throughout this album, but also recognize elements from those other creative outlets.”

The story within is imaginative and complex and the music has a soundtrack-like feel, immersing the listener into a creative, stimulating world. The album is a progression and the listener is encouraged to listen to it through this progression to get the maximum effect of the overall concept.

The album was produced by Day of Departure, mixed by Trevor Schrotz at the Red Room Studios, and mastered by Greg Schwan at the Oak Lodge.

Day of Departure is recommended for fans of God is an Astronaut, If These Trees Could Talk, and Lacuna Coil.

The album is now streaming in full at TheProgSpace with its official release on March 25, 2022 via Bravemusic.


Video - ...And We Prepare for Our End -

Video - Ex Machina -

Video - Pierce the Sky (Conflict)

Track Listing:

1. ...And We Prepare for Our End (8:00)

2. The Edge of Annihilation (6:13)

3. The Light In Our Eye Grows Dim (3:01)

4. Pierce the Sky (Conflict) (4:32)

5. Ex Machina (5:46)

6. Life Prevails (6:13)

7. The Future Has No Form (3:24)

8. Living Matter (7:34)

9. Awaken To The Beyond (5:50)

10. The Beyond (2:17)

Album Length: 52:50

For more info:


Day of Departure combines elements of post-rock, ambient, progressive rock, and hard rock to arrive at a unique sonic landscape that seeks to balance the varied influences and inspirations from its creators.

Born out of a desire to explore a different musical style that merges their influences with a well-woven narrative, Washington D.C.’s Day of Departure created a story that begins with the destruction of our planet, and then the need to evolve and find a new path forward for survival. They are heavily influenced by a number of different sci-fi stories and comics that echo throughout their music.

Their debut self-titled album is set to be released on March 25, 2022. It was produced and recorded entirely remotely over two years with none of the members working together in person. They currently do not have any plans to play live at the moment, but are looking forward to thinking about how to bring to life the music and vibe that was created on the record.

While writing their debut, several songs didn’t make the cut, yet Day of Departure are already thinking about the next chapter to explore, with some of those songs/ideas being the inspiration or perhaps even the focus of forthcoming music.

6 views0 comments


bottom of page