top of page

VESPERIAN SORROW Release Lyric Video for "Traverse The Vorthonian Passage"

Symphonic black metal ensemble VESPERIAN SORROW has unleashed the newest single off their highly-anticipated fifth studio album, Awaken the Greylight.

"Traverse The Vorthonian Passage" marks the third track released from the long-awaited album. Watch the lyric video at

Awaken the Greylight marks the band's triumphant return after a twelve-year hiatus and showcases their evolution and artistic maturity. Awaken the Greylight is a captivating blend of atmospheric black metal and symphonic elements, delivering a haunting and immersive sonic experience. Fans can expect an intense and atmospheric journey, filled with intricate melodies, powerful symphonies, and the signature raw energy that defines VESPERIAN SORROW's sound.

This long-awaited release demonstrates the band's unwavering commitment to their craft and their passion for pushing the boundaries of the genre. VESPERIAN SORROW has meticulously crafted each track, pouring their hearts and souls into the music, resulting in a profound and captivating listening experience.

Awaken the Greylight is set to release on April 26th, and will be available on all major streaming platforms and for physical purchase through Black Lion Records.

The band previously released two singles from Awaken the Greylight. Stream "A Dire Flight for the Black Fragment" at

Check out the newly released "An Epistle to the Prime Vivified" at

Pre-order the album at

VESPERIAN SORROW, hailing from Austin, Texas, is a symphonic black metal ensemble with roots tracing back to 1994 when they initially formed under the name Unholy Descent. In the early stages of 1999, the band transformed, adopting the name VESPERIAN SORROW. Unlike many black metal groups that delve into themes of Satanism and anti-Christianity, VESPERIAN SORROW takes a distinctive approach in their lyrical content, exploring realms of the cosmos, sorrow, sadness, and darkness.

The band's name itself, VESPERIAN SORROW, poetically alludes to their thematic focus, translating to "sadness or sorrow in the evening hours.

Awaken the Greylight tracklisting:

1. As The Pillars Were Raised

2. Antediluvian - Proceeding The Unshaping

3. An Epistle To The Prime Vivified

4. Traverse The Vorthonian Passage

5. A Dire Flight for the Black Fragment

6. Seek the Last Priestess of Tyyk

7. They Beheld the Chainbreaker's Crowning Defiance

8. Who Dwells Whithin The Blight Moon

9. The Excillion Ontogenesis

10. Awaken the Greylight


Christopher Nunez - Drums / Keys

Will Rohirrim - Guitars

Orlando Logan Olivero - vocals

Gabe Reyes - bass

2 views0 comments


bottom of page